Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bobby78

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 3, 2013
Hi All,
I have a question regarding the iPhone 5 and tethering. This is a very technical question and cannot find ANYTHING about it on the web. Also, I really don't know where to begin.

Around 2 years ago I was using an iPhone 3Gs and was introduced to the world of tethering. I could connect on my mac, and my IP (on the iMac) was completely different every time. For example the only the first two numbers would remain the same 31.6.X.X with the last two being completely different every time. Here comes the question.

Two months ago I bought an iPhone 5. However, when I connect now, the first 3 digits of my IP are fixed, rather than just the first two. Can someone explain why this has happened? And if there is a way of changing it?

For some background info, I work in marketing, and it's good for my IP to continuously change for the work I do. It's nothing illegal, just my competitors struggle to track what I'm doing if every time I hit refresh on my iphone my IP changes. The reason for this is I can track what they do, and they can't track me giving me an advantage I'd like to keep. If anyone has any knowledge on why this is happening I'd be very grateful.

As an added problem, when I was using the iPhone 3Gs, the IP would be different on my iMac and iPhone when they were both connected through tethering. Not that it matters, but thought it might help with the diagnostics.

SanjeevRana

macrumors 6502a
Aug 2, 2011
Tethering enables your phone to connect to PC/Mac using a local subnet which is accessible only within your phone and PC/Mac. No outside device can connect to it unless they also tether onto your connection (not possible without your password)

The last digit will still keep changing and there are 256 combinations for it ... so you should not need to worry :)

bobby78

macrumors newbie