Tethering works now with Unlocked iPhones 3G and 3GS in FW 3.1.3!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Zobbah, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. Zobbah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    Finally Apple listened to their customers. No hack needed!

    You can put your carrier APN address (same as in Cellular data APN) in settings/ general / Network / Cellular Data Network / Cellular Data it's below mms settings.

    it works like a charm!!

    I have restored my blind faith in Apple again :)
     
  2. aibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    It's working great on my officially unlocked 3GS with t-mobile — but my friend says it's still a no-go with AT&T. The tethering setting never shows up, even after adding a mobileconfig.
     
  3. WPB2 macrumors 6502a

    WPB2

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Southeast, LA
    #3
    If true, this is great.

    Can anyone else confirm, or deny on AT&T???

    I have unofficial tethering on 3.1.2 by way of mobile config/ CommCenter patch. It would be great if it were native on 3.1.3.
     
  4. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Can anyone else confirm/deny with AT&T

    Can anybody else confirm or deny this firsthand with AT&T? I have held off updating due to the fact that I would like to keep the ability to jailbreak. Tethering is the main reason I would jailbreak, but if I could do it without jailbreaking, I may update.
     
  5. lemonademaker macrumors 6502a

    lemonademaker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    In a Van Down By The River! Metro Detroit!
    #5
    i hope i don't get flamed here.... but...

    i know what tethering is but how is it supposed to tether? iphone hooked to computer and the computer can get 3g via hardwired iPhone to computer OR using iPhone as a "hotspot" via bluetooth?

    I looked into my settings (ATT) and i don't see the OPs option in my Network settings......
     
  6. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    I'm not sure what the OP is talking about, but under Settings->General->Network there is no "Cellular Data Network" setting. That is only there if you apply one of the various hacks.

    I am running 3.1.3 on a stock un-jailbroken and locked 3GS.

    Perhaps this refers to factory-unlocked phones?
     
  7. Paratel macrumors 6502

    Paratel

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Somewhere in the US
    #7
    Yea I don't what OP is talking about either. I have no such settings.
     
  8. Zobbah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #8
    I was referring to factory unlocked iPhones. I know this works
    with most unofficial carriers.

    Maybe AT&T and Apple found some way restrict this on the AT&T network.

    I'm using this with my carrier in Iceland

    In my phone "cellular data network" is where I switch on/off the 3G or
    turn on/off the data roaming.

    Maybe your carrier profile is restricting access to these options.
     
  9. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    lol... you for real?

    I've had tethering since June 2009 (in Canada). It has nothing to do with Apple, go yell at AT&T.
     
  10. stomer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #10
    I've got tethering working with T-Mobile UK on my unlocked, non-jailbroken iPhone 3G.

    I don't know whether something in 3.1.3 enabled it or whether it was a setting that I had previously missed.

    Anyway, woohoo :)
     
  11. aibo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #11
    Yeah sounds like locked iPhones are still out of luck.

    3.1.3 enables tethering for everyone else.
     
  12. InternetDude08 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    #12
    Ditto! I was confused here because I'm with you, I've had tethering working since last summer! I have a standard locked Rogers phone, not jailbroken.
     
  13. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #13
    Factory unlocked iPhones had tethering disabled since 3.0.1. Meaning that if I bought a factory unlocked iPhone say from italy and tried to use it with O2 Germany (Where the iPhone is a tmobile exclusive) the tethering option won't be there, even though O2 does allow tethering. This was a bug, and didn't make sense at all because the whole purpose of an unlocked iPhone is that I can use it with whomever I like.

    But now with the update, tethering is enabled back again.
     
  14. vivithemage macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #14
    I am pretty sure it's AT&T's fault. I tried using a T-Mobile carrier file, and reset the phone, and applied a backup that had my T-Mobile carrier file, and the tethering options were there on AT&t, then i got the AT&T updated carrier file and it lost the tether options.
     
  15. Dave6195 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    #15
    Im using a factory unlocked iPhone from Italy. When I use a custom carrier bundle I created here http://www.volkspost.info/ipcc_fw3/ I lose the option for tethering. Its annoying because this carrier bundle enables other features in the phone that are useful so now I still have no tethering... :(
     
  16. Cartoonkid macrumors 6502

    Cartoonkid

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Location:
    Costa Mesa, CA
    #16
    I think it's more like non-jailbroken AT&T iPhones are out of luck. :(
     
  17. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #17
    op updated to a hacked ipsw which let him keep his tethering settings
     
  18. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #18
    Same here. I thought "woo!" until I saw that. Pretty much figured that.
     
  19. stevespa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #19
    Same. I've been using it a lot lately too. Tethering is spectacular.
     
  20. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #20
    There are no hacks required; this is a change in the official 3.1.3 firmware. Factory-unlocked phones now "unlock" tethering if you're using an unofficial carrier, which is how it always should have been.

    This makes no difference for AT&T users, as the AT&T bundle overrides tethering.
     
  21. chiacy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #21
    Yes! it works for Celcom in Malaysia!

    Upgraded to 3.1.3, and it works out from the box for Celcom Malaysia.
     
  22. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #22
    I have a factory unlocked iPhone and I've had tethering since 3.0.
     
  23. andygabriel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #23
    i have an official unlock iphone 3G from Australia and now using it in Taiwan. I updated to 3.1.3 and the native tethering came up.

    Note that i'm with a non official carrier in Taiwan. So all i had to do is type in the APN and voila, it works.

    I'm stoked to have tethering working now without any hack. I've never jailbroken my iphone.

    Now i love my iphone more because i can tether my macbook anywhere, train, bus etc.

    The tethering speed is super fast, i can watch Youtube video, video chat on skype(tried it yesterday on a 45 mins train ride).

    It's awesome since i have unlimited data with my Taiwanese carrier. 3G in Taiwan is very fast!

    Thx Apple:)
     
  24. Shenaniganz08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #24
    Moderators or OP can you please change the original title to avoid confusion

    this is for factory unlocked iPhones (non USA)

    for everyone here in the USA with AT&T, tethering stopped working with 3.0
     
  25. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #25
    Confirmed that it does not work on an unlocked iPhone with AT&T.
     

Share This Page