The BANK 0/DIMM0: slot of my macbook pro won't recognize any RAM.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ilazb, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. Ilazb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #1
    Hi, I just bought some RAM to my mid 2009 MBP, I opened it and I changed it, but only one of the slots is recognizing the RAM, and I tried putting the old RAM back, and switching them, but its always the same slot,
    What can I do? Thanks.

    and I'm sure that my macbook pro is up to date in everything and it should support 8gb, and now is not even working with the 2gb that i had before.
     
  2. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #2
    Bad RAM slot. I hope it's under Applecare, because a bad RAM slot usually means a new logic board.

    It happened a lot on later Powerbooks--one of the RAM slots would fail.

    You can try resetting the PRAM and SMC, and I would hope that would fix it, but I'm skeptical.
     
  3. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
  4. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    So you say you put the old ram back in.. does the old ram work in both slots (did it before ?) and only the new ram fails to work in one slot ?

    Im assuming both banks had RAM in before, and that your changing both at the same time, for DIMMs with the same speed , if your mixing a single old DIMM with a new DIMM there may be a missmatch.

    if the old RAM isnt working in both slots, and both slots were in used before you removed the ram, and now dont work, apples going to tell you damaged it changing it out, so if you do have apple care, put the old ram back in, take it to apple, and dont tell them your trying to put new ram in, just tell them its been running slow and when you checked in system info half the ram had gone.
     
  5. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    To be 100% sure you can place one RAM stick, ideally the 4Gb one, in one slot and leave the other one empty. Then boot up the computer. If that works then do the same with the other slot. You only need to have RAM in one of the 2 DIMM slots to work and this is a way to valid that it is the RAM not the computer - but it really sounds like the computer. This was what I did with my 2010 MBP when I bought 8GB (2x4gb) and had trouble - I bought from OWC and they had me do a few tests to confirm.

    If it is the DIMM slot then I hope you have AC. Also, if you do have AC then bring it in with the old RAM not your new RAM for repair. This way they can't blame the RAM or swap the part so you lose your new RAM to downgrade to the original 4GB.
     

Share This Page