The best way to fix the possible dead pixel on my new iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by autumn, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. autumn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #1
    Hi everyone, my dear 5 years old Powerbook G4 (Ti 1GHz) is having logic board problems this week and it's really not worth it to fix it so I went to the Apple store tonight and got the Core 2 Extreme iMac.

    Everything is great and I was able to transfer all my data from the powerbook but I noticed that there might be a dead pixel on my display.

    It is black but seems like it doesn't completely cover one pixel space. Could it be a dust? If so, is it possible to take the glass off and clean the display?

    Anyway, what are some of the best idea to fix it? I know nothing is 100% but would love to give it a try.

    Thanks so much for inputs and will check back later for pics and stuff.

    P.S. I have googled and it seems there are several things I could try. Don't wanna do anything til I get some inputs.
     
  2. autumn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #2
    Does the dead or stuck pixel show up on screen capture?

    I just used "Grab" to take a pic of the screen and it wasn't there.
     
  3. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Torontoland
    #3
    I had a few stuck pixels on my 20" iMac. I had it for three weeks and figured I'd take it to the Apple Store to see if they can remove the screen and massage the pixel. They have the tools and knowhow to remove the screen. Apparently, you can do it yourself with a suction cup but I wouldn't bother if you're near an Apple store.

    Anyway, I went in hoping they'd remove the screen. They just replaced my iMac with a brand new one. If you're within the first two weeks, walk in and swap it. If you're beyond it, walk in and ask them to see if they can do something about it. Geniuses like nice people. Be nice and they'll be nice back.
     
  4. autumn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #4
    Do I have to go to the one I bought it from? I don't live close to an Apple store.
     
  5. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Torontoland
    #5
    If you got it from an actual Apple Store (ie a company store), then you can go back to any store. But if you got it from an authorized retailer, you'd need to go back to that specific one I would imagine.
     

Share This Page