Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wnxgenral

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 14, 2008
So strap in because even after having been an avid Mac user for years this one really gets me.

So it all started about a month ago, my Late 2008 MBP Unibody crashed and I lost everything, I learned the hard way that I need to keep a backup. Anyways, I am currently a student at Purdue University so the nearest apple store was all the way in Indianapolis which is about 1.5 hours there and 1.5 hours back. Anyways, having been so loyal to apple and gotten such great customer service in the past I accepted the fact that I needed to drive to Indy and leave my computer there for 7 days to get it fixed. Anyways, long story short it took them 7 days to reformat the hard drive and reinstall OSX 10.6. Ok, if that fixed the problem, I'll be happy, 7 days to do what takes 20 minutes but I was being patient something I usually do not practice.

So i get the computer back and everything seems to be working, for about an hour... Eventually the computer begins to lock up, the volleyball of death, you name it, the thing wouldn't act stable for more than 45 minutes. This lead me to believe that they just reinstalled OSX and didn't run any hardware stability tests or anything. I was upset.

I came home this weekend because I am pretty sick and I needed a few days to recover. Home is in Wisconsin. I eventually told my mom all about the problem and that I couldn't get any of my homework done, it was just a living hell.

Heres where the craziness happens. While I was asleep my complete computer illiterate mom went over to the apple store with my macbook pro and demanded that she get a new one. Keep in mind my apple care is up next month and this thing is about a year old. After 2 hours there, she came home with a brand new in the box 2.6 GHz Macbook Pro... when I had the 2.4Ghz model... I'm just blown away.