The "End Times"

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by viperGTS, Mar 26, 2015.

1. viperGTS macrumors 65816

Let me start by saying that I'm not the most religious person in the world. I was born and raised a Catholic and I definitely believe in God, though I haven't been in much touch with my faith in recent years.

I'm also no expert on bible prophecy, and I only really look it up when I look at posts on the Internet of people saying "OMG this happened, we're approaching the End Times, we're going home!"

That being said, I have a certain friend on Facebook, an old teacher of mine, who is very religious. Nearly all of his posts concern Israel or ISIS, and every once in a while he will mention how a certain event is a signal of the end times. This time, he seemed really convinced due to the following: http://www.nowtheendbegins.com/blog/?p=32009

He is absolutely convinced that he's returning "home" very soon, which I assume to be God's Kingdom in this case. Websites like the above are, in my opinion, really only made to fear monger. I try to think rationally and not assume the worst, but this is very slightly convincing.

I personally don't feel that the world is ending soon (possibly not at all), but for those especially knowledgeable on prophecy, how do you take this? I don't think this is the first time that Arab nations have come together to fight Israel, but I may be wrong. Even those not experts on prophecy, what do you think?

I understand that people have been shouting "end times" for thousands of years; is this no different?

2. BenTrovato macrumors 68020

BenTrovato

People have been calling for end times for how many thousand years now? Eventually someone will be right.

3. viperGTS thread starter macrumors 65816

Are you suggesting that now they might be?

4. jkcerda Suspended

jkcerda