The iPod touch 4th gen has 256MB of RAM....

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Code.Red, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. Code.Red macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #1
  2. VyseTheLegend macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #2
    People with iPhone 4's have reported that app is inaccurate and reports that the iPhone 4 has 256Mb.

    System Lite, however, reports the accurate amount of ram in the iPhone 4, and people have suggested that iPod Touch 4 users try it. But, as of now, no one has.
     
  3. pavenger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Spokane, WA USA
    #3
    This very well could be inaccurate. those numbers only add up to 210 anyway. I have an app on my 3rd gen that displays memory usage and it never adds up properly, it usually claims that i have approx. 190MB of memory at any given time but often times even less. so I wouldn't take this screenshot for fact at this point
     
  4. Code.Red thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #4
    Ah, didn't realize that. I hope you're right!
     
  5. Cyber86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #5
    Attached screenshot from System Lite. This really sucks if it's true :(
     

    Attached Files:

  6. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
  7. rbf1138 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #7
    That is kind of lame...Although, maybe that extra 256 in the iphone goes to handling the calling and data capabilities, and in reality in most apps is using closer to the 256 in the touch?
     
  8. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #8
    People need to realise that the iPhone 4 remains Apple's "premium" iOS device.

    iPod touch fans need to calm down. You got the Retina Display (albeit not IPS), the A4 chip, front facing camera & FaceTime, and HD video recording.

    That's a hell of a lot of iPhone 4 features, but the iPod touch will always be the iPhones poor relation on purpose. No GPS, no 3G, half the RAM, lower resolution still photos, no IPS.

    Given what you DID get compared to what you didn't, iPod touch fans have done well from this update, yet some are moaning over on iPod touch Fans forums about no GPS or 3G!

    Come on ...
     
  9. Cyber86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    #9
    I see your point and I wholeheartedly agree; from a business standpoint Apple really can't afford to have two 'premium' iOS devices, otherwise the iPhone wouldn't sell at all. It is just disappointing to those of us who can't have iPhones... :)
     
  10. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    The issue is not having the iPod Touch be too premium, the issue is that you have to factor in the real selling price of each device, and then realistically determine how much tech can go into each.

    The iPhone 4 costs $200 or $300 with contract, but Apple's actual revenue per iPhone is much higher. If the iPod Touch were to cost say $450 for 16GB, then Apple could fit in more stuff- RAM, better camera, etc. What they are able to do with $229 starting price is pretty good IMO.

    I don't think either device is really sacrificed for the sake of the other, but they do represent different price points (non-subsidized price.)
     
  11. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #11
    Agreed.

    It's a balance that Apple have had to get right and be very careful over.

    What you get for your money, compared to last years model, is great for iPod touch buyers/fans.
     
  12. RayLancer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #12
    Damn, CPU/RAM and GPU was something I was hoping wouldn't get affected (I was expecting the same specs if not better than the iPhone 4).
     
  13. earth.razer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
  14. XciteMe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #14
    Get an iPhone 4 if you don't like it. Not on AT&T? Pay your ETF and join.
     
  15. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    here's a comparison screen from my iphone 4 with system lite.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. earth.razer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    #16
    The new iPod touch started out as just like iPhone 4, and then got worse and worse.
     
  17. fswmacguy macrumors 6502

    fswmacguy

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #17
    This is the best reply on here.

    Look, sheeple, the iPad has just 256MB and it runs smooth as silk. The iPhone 4 is a flagship product and will always, always, have better specs.
     
  18. hcho3 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #18
    Calm down people. Apple has to cut costs to avoid any high prices. Are any of you willing to pay 399 dollars for an iPod touch 8GB model? I don't think so...
     
  19. Bleak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #19
    They should have done what they did in the third gen and left the 8gb out in the rain.
     
  20. TorontoLRT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Duh!
    #20
    If I could cancel my order, I would, but it's already shipped. I've never noticed any RAM problems with my iPad, but the iPod Touch is supposed to be a game device first and foremost, and a game device needs good specs.
     
  21. smiddlehurst macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #21
    Oh for the love of... Look, I know that it's traditional for the collective IQ of the forum to dip about 20 points on product launches but please THINK for just one minute.

    Point to one instance, just one, where the iPod Touch has been short of memory when running applications. Even Epic Citadel runs just fine on the older devices and the iPad, with the same processor and memory as the new Touch and a higher resolution display, runs it damn near perfectly (certainly on a par with the iPhone 4). The only reason the iPhone got 512Mb is, frankly, it can potentially be doing FAR more at any given time. Basically the extra ram is to allow all the phone / sms software to work properly while also handling the same workload as the Touch will.

    There's no reason whatsoever to get hung up on this. It's not going to affect your usage of the device and won't affect what apps run on it. Forget about this constant (and pointless) fascination with the spec sheet and concentrate instead on what these devices do, how they do them and what the actual user experience is.
     
  22. rbf1138 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #22
    Agreed. However, I disagree about Epic Citadel. So far, it crashes at the splash screen every time I load it up, as it has for several others here.
     
  23. Code.Red thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #23
    While the 256MB of RAM is disappointing (who wouldn't want more?), it really isn't a big deal.

    You have to keep in mind that iOS' multitasking is quite different than "true" multitasking, so 256 vs 512 MB of ram won't be a limiter by any means. Apps, for the most part, (depending on what kind of multitasking they are using), won't even be kept in RAM.

    For the guys who 256MB vs 512MB of ram was the deciding factor of whether you would have bought it or not.. you need to think that over, I think.
     
  24. GoodBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #24
    If this is true, what real improvements have been made over previous generation?

    - addition of face time camera
    - addition of 0,7mpix rear camera
    - bumped up screen resolution
    - a tad faster processor

    I guess that's about it. Dit I miss something?
     
  25. Code.Red thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    #25
    Gyroscope, FaceTime, flat back, thinner.
     

Share This Page