The limit of ram the new Macbook's can handle

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by macdon101, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. macdon101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #1
    I'm a bit confused on how much ram the new macbook can handle. I think the apple site is wrong and what people say is off. If you could help me that would be great. Right now I have the new macbook, with the pre installed two gig's of ram (one gig sticks). I'm pretty sure i can upgrade to four gig's (two gig sticks) But I was really wondering if I can go up to six gig's (three gig chips). Thank you for your time...
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    There are no 3GB chips. You can use one 4GB and one 2GB for six. Eight doesn't work, for some reason (Apple).
     
  3. The Samurai macrumors 68000

    The Samurai

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #3
    6 gigs is tops, for now. Snow Leopard might change that to 8gb possibly?
     
  4. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    I just bought 4GB from Macsales.com for $74.99, about $80 with shipping. I was going to get 6GB but no way I was going to spend $400.

    They wanted to charge me $30 to ship it to Canada! :eek: So I paid $7 and got it shipped to my cousin who goes to school in Buffalo and it will arrive next week. He comes home each weekend, so I saved myself a lot of money (conversion USD -> CAD).
     
  5. dwc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    FL
    #5
    New white Macbooks-4Gig Stick Newegg

    G.SKILL 4GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Laptop Memory Model F2-5300CL5S-4GBSQ - Retail


    Your Price:$199.99
     
  6. superxero3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    did they charge you sales tax on that order? I'm from Buffalo and i know 99% of the websites i buy from now charge the annoying *1.0875 sales tax.
     
  7. Josh Kahane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    #7
    Whats the most RAM a White Macbook can handle? and can it accept DDR3? (the new nVidia 9400M ones.)
     
  8. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #8
    Nope DDR2 and DDR3 are *completely* different. It would be impossible to put DDR2 RAM in a DDR3 slot and vice versa. If you have a white Macbook though, you're lucky as DDR2 RAM is very cheap these days. ;)

    The white Macbook can handle 4gb RAM.
     
  9. Quu macrumors 68020

    Quu

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #9
    To be honest DDR3 RAM isn't that expensive either. You can purchase 4GB of DDR3 from Crucial (2x2GB) at 1066MHz for a MacBook / MacBook Pro for only £56. That is pretty much a bargain. However when you hit 8GB (2x4GB) the price explodes to £750.

    EDIT: Here is a Link
    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=05217C5FA5CA7304
     
  10. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #10
    Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe you can install 8GB of RAM in a current MacBook but it will only utilize 6GB for now. Snow Leopard (64 bit) will possibly allow the full 8GB of RAM to be used.
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    It can see and use all eight gigabytes... OS X just doesn't like it. By that I mean, it crashes and runs slow as peas.
     
  12. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #12
    Gotcha....thanks Tall.
     
  13. Patriks7 macrumors 65816

    Patriks7

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #13
    And obviously, that is not something to do with OS X. More like some firmware. If it would be in OS X, there is no way anyone would buy 32 GB RAM for a Mac Pro, and Apple wouldn't give the option to upgrade to 8 GB on the 17" MacBook Pro, which practically has the same chipset and all as the 15" one, just Apple had to add some restriction to the smaller ones to make people buy the 17" one :p
    Anyway, I think that if you need more than 4/6 GB RAM, you should be on a desktop anyway. I really don't see a reason to have more than 4 GB on a MacBook, except for bragging rights :p (all just an opinion, though).
     
  14. wallstreetcrash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    I have 2x 2GB DDR3, but on Activity Monitor it always says 1.06GB is Inactive (Blue color)

    Any idea?
     
  15. phoutasen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #15
    to anyone that upgraded ram: did you notice a significant boost in performance?
     
  16. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #16
    Doesn't look like it. Here is my invoice:

     
  17. Bwilky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #17
    +1 on your whole post. If your going to be investing that much in ram, you mine as well just upgrade to the real beast.
     
  18. wallstreetcrash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    Price difference between MB with 4GB ram and 17" MBP is helluva lot!
     

Share This Page