The Most Cost Effective Raid Solution For Editing 1080p 24p Hd Footage On Fcp??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lawts, May 6, 2008.

  1. Lawts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #1
    We are currently in the process of building a FCP suite that we need to be able to smoothly handle 10bit 1080p HD Quicktime files without freezes and jumps in the footage. Ideally, we are hoping to install a RAID card and three additional drives under the hood of the Mac Pro and edit up to 100 minutes of 1080p HD without problem (in a RAID 0 configuration). Is this realistic though? Or do we need an external RAID array in a RAID 0 configuration to properly display and edit 100 minutes of 1080p HD? Any advice regarding our best purchase options would be hugely appreciated. Keep costs to a minimum is a priority too. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. faumble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #2
    I think you would be better off with a Raid 5, I know its a bit more expensive but for 100 min on 1080 is what I am guessing you might need, what is the format you are exporting to?
     
  3. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #3
    Are you working 10-bit Uncompressed or ProRes?

    Getting the CalDigit RAID card and striping (RAID0) 3 internals, you can support one stream of 10-bit Uncompressed. Using ProRes, you'd be able to get 5 streams. If you need more streams or RAID5 for protection, you'll need to start looking at 8 drive RAID towers from Caldigit, Dulce, etc.
     
  4. Lawts thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    We have super 16mm film stock that we're having converted, ideally, to 1080p 24p 10bit HD quicktime files - about 100 minutes worth. Does this constitute "one thread"? I'm not sure what the term "thread" refers to in this case - any explanation would be great!

    Is it safe to use RAID 0 if I back-up the HD media to an external drive?

    I keep hearing contrasting opinions - one school argues that this 1080p footage can't be edited/displayed smoothly without an external RAID array. The other school argues that I can fit the internal RAID card and internal drives and handle it all under the hood of the Mac Pro? Thoughts?
     
  5. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #5
    You should REALLY get tape copies of everything. It doesn't need to be HDCAM-SR or D5, but at least DVCProHD tapes. Tape is the ultimate backup and it is much cheaper than telecining a 2nd time because the hard drive crashed or a file corrupted.

    One stream means that when you are playing a timeline, only one video file is being played at a time (meaning no 2nd layer).

    Yes, but I'd still get a tape copy from the telecine.


    That's because those opinions are talking about different things. You say "this 1080p footage" but you haven't even picked a video codec yet. If you are doing Uncompressed 10-bit, then a 3-disk hardware RAID0 will allow you to playback one stream at a time. Using ProRes (still 10-bit 1080p), you'd be able to playback 5 streams at a time.

    It is very useful to have this overhead for transitions and compositions. So if you are going to edit Uncompressed 10-bit (comfortably), you are going to need to look into something like an 8-disk RAID array. If you decide to go ProRes, you would be just fine with a hardware RAID card and a 3-disk internal array.
     

Share This Page