the movie files size becomes SMALL once it appears in the canvas on FCP

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by misskaul, Dec 31, 2008.

1. misskaul macrumors newbie

I'm new to editing on FCP.

I have to edit some clips off a VCD. The files are .dat, which I converted to .mpg.

Once I uploaded them to FCP, I could hear no sound. So, using iSquint, I converted the files to mp4.

Now, there is both audio and video when I import to FCP.

However, the movies all have RED "3ivx Trial (Demo Expired)" written across it but I suppose that just means 3ivx is expired. Anyway, that's not the problem.

Once I choose my clips and put them in the storyline, they appear on the canvas really small (on the viewer when you fit to window its 124%, but on the canvas, its 64%). Even when I convert the clip via QuickTime converter, the problem remains.

Now I understand this might just be something relating to settings, but I'm totally clueless after this point! Please help me!

2. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

northernmunky

Hi
    You're going about it all wrong, mpg and mp4 are output formats and are not for editing with. Only use these for your final render.

Best thing you can do is convert your .dat file with MPEG Streamclip and do an Export to Quicktime.

Select Apple DV - PAL (or NTSC depending on whatever country you're in) or Apple Intermediate Codec (in fact the latter is probably a better option.
    NTSC = North America, Canada, Japan
    PAL = Europe, Most commonwealth and former commonwealth countries (ex France).

And then make sure frame size is selected to the correct size:
    720x576 = PAL
    720x480 = NTSC

And then click - 'Make Movie'

Once thats imported into FCP it will be rendered in an editable format and to the correct size

3. OttawaGuy macrumors 6502a

OttawaGuy

Set the drop down box on both the viewer and canvas to the same size ( I'm not sure what size monitor you have) lets say 100% or fit to window.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. DPA macrumors 65816

DPA