The new Samsung SF311 (Sandy Bridge 13") Specs Suitable for MBP13?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Adidas Addict, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. Adidas Addict macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
  2. RedReplicant macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
  3. aiqw9182 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #3
    If Apple drops the optical drive then those specs are incredibly likely in the new 13" MBP. The 2.3 i5 would be the high end 13" with the 2.1 i3 being the low end 13".

    The GPU for the new 13" MBP will be either a 520M or an AMD Mobility 6490 if Apple removes the ODD. Otherwise we'll be looking at Intel's HD 3000 for graphics should Apple decide not to remove the ODD.
     
  4. Adidas Addict thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Is that because the samsung has more room in it's thicker base? Surely the i3 should be reserved for budget models (white MB)?
     
  5. aiqw9182 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #5
    Both the current white MacBook and entry level 13" MBP have the same processor.
     
  6. Adidas Addict thread starter macrumors 65816

    Adidas Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I think that was more to do with lack of options (once they weren't going arandale) and getting a decent price from intel.
     
  7. Sarngate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #7
    Why do you say this ?

    Sandy Bridge has the IGP on the same die as the CPU itself, so there would be plenty of room for a separate GPU and an Optical Drive. This would allow graphics switching on every Macbook.
     
  8. aiqw9182, Feb 19, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2011

    aiqw9182 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #8
    The 13" MBP has had the same processor as the white MB since it became a Pro. There's no reason to think it will be any different now.


    Uhh, Arrandale was the same way as Sandy Bridge. It was on the CPU itself and it still wasn't possible. If it was we wouldn't be looking at Core 2 Duo's in the 13" MBP, MB, or Mac Mini right now.
     
  9. Sarngate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #9
    No it wasn't mate.

    http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2010/04/why-the-13-macbook-pro-didnt-get-a-core-i5-upgrade.ars

    Because the IGP in the old i3 and i5 CPU's wasn't on the same die it required a separate SB chip to control other functions, this SB chip has been eliminated with Sandy Bridge because the IGP is on the same die as the CPU.

    This change means that there is more space on the logic board which will allow Apple to use Sandy Bridge and a discrete GPU in it's 13'' models.
     
  10. aiqw9182 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #10
    You are correct, my mistake.
     

Share This Page