Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bcwright03

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2012
I will start by asserting my needs with the computer that I am likely to buy in July as an upcoming college freshman. For one, I am not a pro user. If anything constitutes pro use, it would be sporadic video editing, light photoshop work, and some multi-tasking. These activities, as I said, are sporadic and not representative of the majority of the tasks I do on a computer. I mostly read articles on the web, watch netflix streaming, listen to music with spotify, watch youtube videos, write essays, prepare presentations, and download occasional movies. One hobby of mine is photography and I usually edit and go through pretty large files when editing them. When I do video work, the end products will be anywhere from one minute to ten. Usually they are for school or are small projects.

Now that I have addressed my needs, I would like to present the options I have come to consider. After the recent mid 2012 release of the MBA, MBP, and MBP w retina display, I initially stroked the Pro with retina display off of the list. Firstly, the 15" size is too large for my needs, and is too expensive. This leaves the two 13" models (the 13 mba and mbp). As late, I was dead set on the air. After the 2011 release with the core i5 and i7 processors, I could not see a reason to buy the pro. I was not seeing any advantages to having the pro besides the dvd drive, the slightly faster processor, and the greater variety of I/O ports. After thinking though, I came to the conclusion that I may indeed be out of luck if my college requires cd's and certain connections (ethernet, firewire, more usb). Also, I read that the mbp, with their mobile cpu's are more future proof than the air's with the ulv cpu's.