This is what I want to do - what do I have to buy?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kewly, Mar 22, 2012.

1. kewly macrumors newbie

Hello MacRumors-community,

I have been using my windows notebook for almost the past 3 years and had a look at multiple apple products for the first time now, since I think I want to switch sides from windows to iOS. I was, almost always, satisfied with my windows product but really like the thought of many things being easily compatible with each other, which is why I do not just want a new notebook, but a variety of products to acquire certain things I would like to be able to do at home. Now this is where I need you: I would love to know how I'd be able to do all these things the easiest way possible! Here comes my list.. ;)

- MacBook Pro 13" notebook
    - I would like to listen to music and print wirelessly as soon as my Mac is connected to the wifi at home, I guess the AirPort Express would make that possible
    - I would like to stream content from my 6TB-RAID directly to my TV, now: How am I able to realize this the most simple way? Can I plug my HDD into the AirPort, too, and stream everything over a jailbroken AppleTV? Do I need both the AirPort Express and Extreme?
    - It would be very nice if I could use my Logitech Harmony to control the AppleTV

Right now, that's all the stuff I can think of. I would be very glad if you can help me with these issues.

kewly

2. chrono1081 macrumors 604

chrono1081

I can answer some of your questions, hopefully someone else can chime in later on to augment what I say:

1. You can print wirelessly from your Mac easily and it has iTunes so you can listen to music without downloading anything extra. You don't need an airport, any router will work but I do personally like the airports for home networking.