This tweet is interesting, for anyone who has Watch & AirPods..

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by matrix07, Sep 17, 2017.

  1. edhchoe macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
  2. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #3
    Yes, just turn the crown.

    The watch is turning to be a very good iPod.
     
  3. Pug72 macrumors 6502a

    Pug72

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Hasn't that always been the case since (and limited to) Series 2?
     
  4. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    No it's new to watchOS 4. Before you have to go to now playing first, now it appears automatically.
     
  5. Pug72 macrumors 6502a

    Pug72

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I've noticed that Now Playing appears auto on my Series 0, but before WOS 4 and on Series 2 watches you could use the crown to change volume when the screen was off (Now Playing in action).
     
  6. igrover macrumors regular

    igrover

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #7
    Yep it works just that way. Much easier to do than to fiddle around with touching the AirPods.
     
  7. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #8
    Good to know. Can't wait for Tuesday!
     
  8. edhchoe macrumors 6502a

    edhchoe

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #9
    I see.
    You didn't sign up for beta testing.
    I usually do.
     
  9. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    I don't think doing beta on the watch is a good idea. Just updating software is atrociously slow enough.
     
  10. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #11
    In my case, it's because I don't want to bork my daily-use devices.
     
  11. Vermifuge macrumors 68000

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #12
    I have been using my S0 to control the volume and track section when using my AirPods. The "lack" of controls has been a non issue for me because i always have my Apple Watch on. However i always thought using the crown would have been a better solution to the on screen controls. This is GRAEAT news!
     
  12. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #13
    Like you I depend on my phone and doing beta was a lesson I learned long ago. Not for me.
     
  13. Pug72 macrumors 6502a

    Pug72

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Um, we've always been able to use the crown for volume on a Series 0, it's just with Series 2 you didn't need to activate the screen first.
     
  14. Vermifuge macrumors 68000

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #15
    only after launching the app. this sounds like twisting the crown will work independent of having that app running
     
  15. BarracksSi Suspended

    BarracksSi

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    #16
    If so, then that's pretty handy. I was hoping they'd adjust the functionality to allow it.
     
  16. jasonisme macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    #17
    Can anyone confirm if it works this way for Powerbeats3 also? Since it has the W1 chip.
     
  17. mk313 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #18
    From the tweet, it sounds like this will work with all synced headphones, not just AirPods. It is a change to how the watch handles music controls.
     
  18. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #20
    For sure. For sure. One more day.


    Correct. it's the change in watchOS 4 itself. All wireless headphone will get the benefit but AirPods much more so than others because it doesn't has physical control.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 17, 2017 ---
    Doesn't Powerbeats 3 already has physical volume control? If so then you don't even need the crown. Just use that.
     
  19. geekiemac macrumors 6502

    geekiemac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #21
    I already use the watch to control volume on the AirPods. I have the Music complication on one of my watch faces, so all I do is tap on it and then tap on the volume controls.
    watchOS 4 will make that even a tad easier. Can't wait for tomorrow !
     
  20. v1597psh macrumors regular

    v1597psh

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Well I don't see any technical point in that tweet. watchOS 4 brings Now playing screen automatically when any music is played. When you rotate the crown on Series 2, it turns on the screen and if you keep rotating, it will start changing your volume. I guess it works the same in watchOS 3 if you have Now playing screen in the background
     
  21. matrix07, Sep 24, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2017

    matrix07 thread starter macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #23
    I test it for a few days now and I really dig it. I just lift up my wrist and turn the crown. No need to look at all. it just feels natural. I don't even have to look down when I skip a song forward.

    3 things I find that bug me a bit.
    - Official YouTube app doesn't support Now Playing. When you play YouTube on iPhone, it doesn't connect to Now Playing on the watch.
    - I'd really like to have small icon of playing app back.
    - Album cover is no more, which is a shame.

    Otherwise, it's great.
     

Share This Page

22 September 17, 2017