Those of you with 2009 Mac Pro + Boot Camp… is AHCI enabled by default?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by grue, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
  2. jons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #2
    It is for me. Running Windows 7 build 7077.
     
  3. grue thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #3
    Interesting. This of course begs the question, which of the following would need to be done to EASILY enable AHCI on 2006-2008 models:

    1. Just use the 2009 Boot Camp drivers.
    2. Format the disk for Boot Camp in a 2009 model, then place in the intended machine.
    3. Actually install Windows on the disk in a 2009 model, place the disk in the intended machine, and then install the drivers.

    Experiment time!
     
  4. aponsin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #4
    sorry to be ignorant but what is AHCI and what is it used for?

    Thanks,

    alex
     
  5. grue thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #5
    AHCI is a disk controller mode. The old Mac Pros used to run Legacy mode, which allowed for a maximum of 4 SATA devices and 1 PATA device, and the speeds were… less than optimal.

    AHCI is what non-crappy setups use for maximum speed and happy fun times… also necessary to use SATA optical drives in Mac Pros.
     

Share This Page