Those who use iPads for University/business meetings

Discussion in 'iPad' started by snowydog, Sep 19, 2011.

1. snowydog macrumors 6502

I'm going to use my ipad2 for uni this year and for business meetings also.

I'm wondering for those who already use it at uni - does many in your class use it? are you the only one? how do you feel?

I'm a bit of a loner at uni and I'm in my final year - I do a sports science class and not many of my classmates have ipads (unless they got over the summer)/..quite a few use their laptops in class, others just sit there and listen and don't do any writing - I feel like they'll be looking and talking about me when I take out my ipad to write my notes... I don't care too much, but they are that stuck up I'm pretty sure I'll get some looks and whispering ... suggesting I'm "showing off" or something...

In business - I'm pretty sure people are more impressed...but uni is different - don't like many in my yaar (I have loads of friends outside of uni but never gelled with anyone in it, and most live on campus and have their wee groups)

Anyway - just curious as to how you're perceived when you pull out your ipad and start writing

2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey

I don't think you'd be thought of any better in a business meeting if you had an iPad. In my field (video & web) if I brought an iPad to a business meeting I'd be looked at oddly because it's rather pointless to try to use in a meeting situation.

3. Akira1980 macrumors 6502

Akira1980

I use Mindnode to take notes and Omnifocus to organize. I use Pages when I need to write simple reports.

4. j_maddison macrumors 6502a

j_maddison

I work in telecommunications sales, and I use my iPad on a regular basis. I've only used it for note taking in the occasional meeting though, but I do use it all the time to arrange follow up appointments, check emails, and of course to show brochures and presentations.