Thoughts on waiting for the new MP or buying the current model? Urgent advice needed

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sarguelles, Mar 18, 2010.

1. sarguelles macrumors newbie

I know this is a question with a lot of variables and possible answers, but I was hoping you guys can help me out.

I am a composer that focuses on music for film/TV. I need a new workstation and I need it now. I run a lot of sampling libraries that do take a toll on my CPU.

I want to upgrade to a new MAC Pro, but the current quad is not worth the $2,500. I know that an iMac would work for my needs at least for a while, however I do not want to get one because of it's lack of expansion capabilities. I am not very knowledgable on hardware since apple always offered the right hardware for the right value, until now, therefore I never learned a lot about it.

What are your thoughts on the new iMac versus the Mac Pro. I can't wait until June for the new MP (IF the rumors are true) but I do believe I need a MP for its power, and expansion capability. I am desperate. Hope your advice gives me a sense of what to do.

I run Digital Performer 7, Pro Tools 8, and Logic Studio as mixing/recording/sequencing software. Kontakt 4, PLAY (EastWest) and VSL as library hosts for various EastWest sampling libraries, VSL Libraries, Project SAM, omnisphere and use reason as rewire from time to time. As an audio interface I use a MOTU MK3 and Digidesign MBOX.

Thanks!

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

What software and how do you use it?

Also a more descriptive thread title could help trigger more clicks.
    To edit your thread title, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the "Go Advanced" button below your message.

3. Gomff macrumors 6502a