Tiger to Snow Leopard - advice w/ install and imovie '06

Discussion in 'macOS' started by pa6860, Oct 2, 2009.

1. pa6860 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I've searched these great forums regarding this, but I was hoping for some more advice.

1. I'd like to do an erase and install. Is this really better than a simple upgrade?
    If so, how can I get all my stuff back? I realize this is a silly question, but how can I get all my 17,000 iphoto pictures/folders/albums/slideshows, etc. back the exact same way they are now? (I have iphoto '06-but I will upgrade to iPhoto 09- will this be a problem when restoring my iphoto library?)

Same with itunes? As I am new to this, can you give me a step by step process please?

2. I have several imovieHD/imovie'06 videos. How can I move my iMovieHD application over to snow leopard? Will it co-exist with iMovie09 when I upgrade to ilife 09? Note- I have the original discs that came with the computer 3 years ago

In preparation for the upgrade, I did recently get SuperDuper and I've backed up my HD.

Any advice how to proceed from here (for a "relative newbie") would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks much!

2. HLdan macrumors 603

HLdan

At the risk of everybody here on MR starting over and going step by step with you, what have learned so far from the other forums so we can continue from there?

3. pa6860 thread starter macrumors newbie

I've learned a lot, but as to be expected, there are varying opinions out there on what is best, and a lot of advice that assumes too much from newbies like myself. So instead of getting varying points of view about similar (but different) subjects, I'd like to get direct opinions about this specific subject.