Tmobile "Unlocked" iPhone 6 is Actually Locked to Tmobile?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Starfyre, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. Starfyre, Sep 19, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2014

    Starfyre macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #1
    I heard from an apple rep the Tmobile phone that is listed as "Unlocked" on apple.com, (and the ones they are selling in the store) are actually locked to Tmobile. Has anyone else had this experience? If so, what do you do to unlock it? Have you gone through the process?
     
  2. nburwell macrumors 68040

    nburwell

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    PHL
    #2
    If it's truly unlocked, all you have to do is pop the T-Mobile SIM card out and put a AT&T, Straight Talk, etc. SIM in and the phone will just work.

    I'm actually waiting to see if anyone can actually confirm if the T-Mobile model is, in fact, unlocked. That's the sole reason why I did not pre-order since I want an unlocked model.
     
  3. Starfyre thread starter macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #3
    That is what I am saying, the Apple rep in store said it is not truly unlocked, so popping in AT&T or other carrier sim card would not work. The Apple rep said it had to be "unlocked" by Tmobile to do so, but I am not sure what I need to do to make it so.:eek:
     
  4. unobtainium macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #4
    I ordered an unlocked T-Mobile phone from Apple.com and just received it this morning. Works fine with my AT&T sim
     
  5. firehead428 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    anyone have experience with one from tmobile.com/store?
     
  6. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #6
    The Apple guys made a point of going down the line this morning and declaring that they have no unlocked phones for sale, and that even if you pay full price, it will be locked. That is just plain malarky. If you pay full price at the Apple store, the phone is unlocked period.

    They are obviously trying to protect the carriers and get you to sign up for a contract. But it's a complete lie.
     
  7. nampmuj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #7
    I am using the T-Mobile 6+ I purchased from Apple.com on AT&T.

    I simply removed the T-Mobile sim before turning on the phone then put my AT&T sim in.
     
  8. neteng101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #8
    Contract free is not the same thing as unlocked.
     
  9. Nde macrumors 6502a

    Nde

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Looks like a 100% successful rate to me. The Apple guy is doing his job. No unlock phones on sale. Wink Wink.
     
  10. MSK5959 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #10
    Same here, it worked right out of the box, no issues at all. I'm loving this phone :)
     
  11. Mazda 3s, Sep 19, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2014

    Mazda 3s macrumors 6502

    Mazda 3s

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #11
    Same here, put my AT&T SIM in and got AT&T service. However, I was only able to make calls/texts; cellular data service was disabled. I did an online chat with AT&T and got my data working after about 10 mins.
     
  12. Starfyre thread starter macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #12
    Can anyone please confirm that the Tmobile phone they used to stick an AT&T (or other carrier besides tmobile) sim card was purchased from the Apple store and NOT the online apple.com?

    If the Apple reps in the line were wrong, I would be super happy, and confused why they would say it was locked especially when asked specifically about the tmobile model.
     
  13. jagu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #13
    Does it have any T-Mobile logo on it anywhere, on software or hardware?

    ----------

    What exactly did you have to do in order to enable cellular service?
     
  14. jzmail macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #14
    Apple guys have been saying there are no "unlocked" phones for years!
     
  15. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #15
    Yeah Apple Stores have long claimed it was locked to T-Mobile. Others are suggesting it's same as years past, not locked if you pay the full device price for T-Mobile version.

    Apple should let you return it if it wasn't unlocked? Good luck.
     
  16. Samiad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #16
    I had an online chat session with Apple and the guy was extremely sure that the T-Mobile contract-free option would arrive unlocked. Even when I said, 'can I return it if it isn't' he said that I could, but it would absolutely be unlocked 100%.

    Would be good if more people could confirm when they get theirs, but it looks like he was correct (based on responses thus far).
     
  17. PTVMan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #17
    This has been resolved and proven many times over this morning. UNLOCKED.
     
  18. Gaura Mohana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #18
    Affirmative! My 6 is working great on Cricket :)
     
  19. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #20
    Based on what people have found in previous years if you buy it from T-Mobile it will be locked, only the ones from Apple are unlocked.
     
  20. Mazda 3s macrumors 6502

    Mazda 3s

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #21
    My phone calls/texts were working, but cellular data was not working.

    I did an online chat with the reps at AT&T and they asked for my IMEI number and the ICCID number. Once he put those into the system, he asked me to reboot the phone. Once it rebooted, I had LTE data service.
     
  21. Starfyre thread starter macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #22
    The confirmation you pointed to is also an "Ordered from Apple" instead of "Bought from local Apple Store".

    Just found a thread where someone mentioned its locked? What is this?

    http://support.t-mobile.com/thread/78484
     
  22. jagu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #23
    Thanks!! Very comforting now. My Tmobile contract free 6+ will arrive next week but I will be using it on AT&t.
     
  23. regbarc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    #24
    Relax. Every user here who got the T-Mobile 6 or 6+ is reporting its unlocked. Relax. ;)
     
  24. ref26 macrumors 6502a

    ref26

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #25
    I got my unlocked T-Mobile phone today and popped in my AT&T sim from my iPhone 5 and it's working no problem. However, I got this text message from AT&T:

    ATT Free Msg: Your new device requires a new SIM card to give you access to all services. Please visit your local ATT store to get a new SIM. Thanks.

    Not sure if I actually need to do so since everything is working fine? Did anyone else get this message?
     

Share This Page