To anyone who has a iPhone 5s!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Macdude2010, Sep 22, 2013.

  1. Macdude2010, Sep 22, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2013

    Macdude2010 macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #1
    Hello,
    So I got my 5s on friday, and I noticed something with the vibration, when it vibrates, it makes this loose sound, now, I think it actually is the silent switch making this noise, because it goes away when I cover it, if you listen closely to the audio, you can hear this higher pitched noise, almost like a rattling, does your phone do this? One thing I discovered, is it only does this on silent, when there is no red line, it doesn't make the noise, so it only makes the noise when the switch is on the bottom with the red line

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/3viomsdryivocki/5s Vibrate.mov
     
  2. D35P3R4T0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    My iPhone 5 had the same problem. Put a case on it. Problem solved.
     
  3. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #3
    I certainly think that is a defect, though I don't own an iphone anymore, my iphone 4S did this but I didn't care enough to get it replaced. If you think it bothers you, definitely take a trip to the genius bar and have them take a look. Make sure you make an appointment first.
     
  4. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
  5. Macdude2010 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #5
    I recorded it while it had the case on, Speck Candyshell.
     
  6. bhags8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #6
    My top power button rattles when I shake my phone. I haven't had an iphone in a while, is this normal? It kind of bothers me. Should I bring it in to apple?
     
  7. jabingla2810 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7
    It's the camera lens. It's meant to be like that.

    Has been since the iPhone 4S.

    As a test, open the camera app and focus on something, now shake the phone. It should be silent. That's because the lens move ever so slightly when not in use so they can focus on something when they need to.
     
  8. Macdude2010 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #8
    Nope, its coming from the other side and only stops when I put my finger on the vibrate switch.
     
  9. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    MattMJB0188

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #9
    If its a loose power button (which is now normal) then its NOT an issue. But the OP can test the vibrator out by holding down the power button slightly.
     
  10. dominic252 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #10
    Mine does this, as did my 5 and I'm pretty sure my 4. Don't know anyone with a 5 or 5s that this doesn't happen to. It's normal
     
  11. Macdude2010 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #11
    I have used a few 5's, the first time i heard this is on my 5s. It rattles while vibrates because of the vibrate switch.
     
  12. Macdude2010 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #12
    I did notice that the power button is loose, but it doesn't bother me. What bothers me is the loose vibrate switch. One thing I discovered, is it only does this on silent, when there is no red line, it doesn't make the noise, so it only makes the noise when the switch is on the bottom with the red line
     
  13. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    MattMJB0188

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #13
    Probably defective. Get it exchanged. The iPhone 5 and 5S use the exact same vibrator.
     
  14. Macdude2010 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #14
    I think its the switch vibrating against the casing of the phone, the vibration motor seems to be fine, also, AT&T won't do exchanges, so I'd have to get a white box.
     
  15. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #15
    Then do it now. White boxes are currently new, not refurb, because they haven't had time to take in and recondition any returns. If you wait a couple weeks, then the remanufactured units will start populating the white boxes.
     
  16. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    MattMJB0188

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #16
    Well, you can return it all together and just re-buy it. No harm in doing that. I actually am quite aware that AT&T doesn't do exchanges on iPhones anymore. They make you go to Apple. If you just want to return it, you have to pay a $35 restocking fee.
     
  17. Macdude2010 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #17
    The one thing is, I'm not sure if it is worth doing that, If you had a screen, side and back protector already installed (side protector is the sticker boy one you melt on the edges with a hairdryer), would you do it?
     
  18. bhags8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #18
    So all phones have a loose power button? Man that sucks. I find it annoying.
     
  19. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    MattMJB0188

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #19
    Last year they were having problems with the sleep/wake button becoming defective after use. Perhaps this way it can be preventive.
     
  20. Troneas macrumors 65816

    Troneas

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    At the alternatives section.
    #20
    To jabingla2810 you listen.

    He knows what he is talking about.
     
  21. swish2351 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    NOPE. It's the Sleep/Wake button.
     
  22. bhags8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #22
    The funny part is You DONT listen. We've said multiple times that it is the power button at the top. But you're always right..... Keep thinking that.
     
  23. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #23
    Well, I wouldn't melt ANYTHING onto my iPhone with a hair dryer. :|


    But I have exchanged an iPhone under warranty even with a full body protector.
    Pretty much every Apple store in just about every Mall in the US has either a Zagg or Ghost Armor kiosk outside of it. usually when I buy my iPhone, I go to that kiosk and get my protector there. Then , if something happens I peel off the protectors, get it swapped and then replace it at the same kiosk (nearly all will gladly apply a new one for a small fee if you keep the bits of the old one and turn it in to them).
     
  24. bdzer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Location:
    Washington
    #24
    I actually went and scheduled a Genius Bar appointment for my loose rattling power button. I can hear it rattle when I record video and move around, the video even records the sound and it interferes with the video. It is also bothersome, in general, to have a rattling noise on my phone. The "genius" had me unlock the phone (since I have a passcode) and he took it to the back to take a look at it, came back and said there's nothing wrong and that it's the "vibrating motor." Yeah, sure. I place my finger on the power button and move my phone and it has 0 rattling, when I let go it rattles like a maraca. I then asked him if he could open it and try and fix it for me, and he told me that he had just opened it and everything checked out fine. Another lie, he gave me my phone back unlocked and into my settings. If he opened it it would have been turned off, and on again which would request my passcode which he doesn't have.
     
  25. Macdude2010 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macdude2010

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    The Apple Store
    #25
    I just want to reiterate something, yes my lock button is a bit loose, but it doesn't bother me and has nothing to do with this. What IS the problem is the vibrate switch making that noise when it vibrates when it is loose, could we please stay on that instead of going off to the common lock button
     

Share This Page