Tomb Raider Gold - Not working correctly in classic on a powerbook g4

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by tombraider, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. tombraider macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    #1
    I'm having the exact same problem as this guy (old archived thread I found googling): http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=52351

    It opens fine, but it's missing things like the text for "save game" and icons in the game like the bar that shows your health and how much air you have when swimming.

    I am running it on a powerbook g4 using OS 9.2 (classic).
     
  2. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #2
    I don't have classic now since I upgraded to Leopard but I used to play the early Tomb Raiders in Classic using the Glide version and this plugin:

    http://macglide.sourceforge.net/

    Looked much better than RAVE or software rendering.
     
  3. tombraider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
  4. Mattww macrumors 6502

    Mattww

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    Sorry I didn't explain this very well. With the early Tomb Raider games you could choose different 3D graphics rendering options. Software Rendering if you didn't have a 3D graphics card (uses the processor instead), RAVE if you had an ATI or NVIDIA card supported by Apple or GLIDE if you had a 3dfx card. You choose which option in the Tomb Raider setup application.

    When you run Tomb Raider in Classic mode OS X actually uses something different - OpenGL. Classic has a converter than converts RAVE to Open GL so you can use this but it doesn't always work 100% so you can get graphical anomalies like you described.

    The plugin I gave the link to allows you to select Glide rendering (originally only for 3dfx cards) and it converts that to OpenGL which OS X can understand and your ATI or NVIDIA hardware can accelerate.

    Hope this makes more sense. All you need to do is Install the extension in your Mac OS 9 system folder - run the game and choose glide. YOu can configure the resolution in a text file as well before hand if you like. The website has details.
     
  5. tombraider thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    #5
    Ah! Thanks for the explanation. I will try that out.
     

Share This Page