Top-Tier iMac with 2TB Fusion or mid-tier with 512GB SSD???

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iOSGoober, Jul 19, 2017.

1. iOSGoober macrumors newbie

I'm looking into replacing my 2016 MB Pro with an iMac and I'm trying to make the best choices I can without blowing the budget out of control. Here are the two 27" 2017 configurations I'm looking at :

1. 3.8GHz i5, Radeon Pro 580 8Gb with 2TB Fusion drive ($2299)
    or
    2. 3.5GHz i5, Radeon Pro 575 4Gb with 512Gb SSD (also $2299)

I would love to have the 3.8GHz model with the 512Gb SSD but that pushes the price out of my comfort zone.

For the most part to be honest I don't do much more than typical internet tom-foolery with it. I used to be an iOS developer but that is on the back burner for now. I don't edit video or photos either so I know the 27" iMac could easily be seen as overkill. What draws me to it is MacOS and that gorgeous screen. In general I want my experience to be responsive and free of the dreaded spinning beach ball. Obviously The SSD would help greatly with that, but given my basic use model I wonder if the 2TB Fusion drive would effectively give me that same level of responsiveness and I might be better spending the money on the beefier CPU and GPU.

Confused.....

Thanks for the input!

2. EugW, Jul 19, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2017

EugW macrumors 68000

EugW

Bottom tier 27" iMac with SSD.

Get some extra memory from Crucial.

3. Mindbender14 macrumors regular

I went for the exact mid tier you listed but I do some light video editing for YouTube and casual gaming. I wanted the slight bump in processor, speed of ssd and the 575 over the base model.

4. Sid The Kid Suspended

Both are good.

You get 2 more powerful things with the 1st option.

You can remove the HDD part and put an SSD in the future if you want.

5. iOSGoober thread starter macrumors newbie