Transferring applications and files from iMAC (Lion) to new MB Pro (Yosemite)

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by ndfly, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. ndfly, Sep 1, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2015

    ndfly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Location:
    Maryland
    #1
    I inadvertently - being a new poster - did not remove the "resolved" "prefix" prior to posting. I did not know about it basically. The response from CoastalOR raised a flag I needed to "unresolve" the post. Figured it out so here we are again!
    ORIGINAL POSTING/QUESTION
    I have not started this yet since i am cleaning up my 2006 iMAC prior to transfer.

    I am not going to use Migration Asst. due to recommendations from sons who are both experienced Mac users. SO, I will be transferring files either through Thunderbolt / Ethernet / or Firewire (I purchased a OWC Thunderbolt 2 dock). Several have recommended using ethernet. I do have a Time machine backup drive but I do not want to use it as the source. There are some issues I have been cleaning up slowly.

    OK, so regardless of the "vehicle" I have a few questions on how the transfer works with respect to applications. Though a long time OSX/Mac user I am not into all the details of technology / software.
    • Am I better transferring "everything" on my existing iMAC over to the MB Pro - applications, music, photos, MS Office files, etc. or just applications first and then cherry=pick other files I want to?
    • If I transfer all applications over what happens with my iPhoto application when it comes over to the Yosemite MB? Do I now have both? Won't that "mess me up" and causes issues?
    • Does transferring applications also require one to transfer "associated" files in other folders besides "application folder"?
    • I would assume that once I transfer an application over to the new MB the application is no longer "active' in the iMAC. Correct?
    I have more questions but these are the key. Thanks in advance for your assistance.
     
  2. CoastalOR, Sep 1, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2015

    CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    Not using Migration Assistant will make the transfer much more complicated and time consuming. I was working on a lengthy response with some instructions, but I now see this thread is now resolved.

    How did you resolve it?

    EDIT: I don't get it. I will swear I saw the thread title changed/show "Resolved", so I deleted all that I had typed before posting and changed the post to ask how it was resolved. Now the title does not display Resolved? I wished I had saved all of my work. :(
     
  3. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #3
    Lets take a run at this again:
    The FIRST thing I would do would be to make a complete backup of your base system on the new MB before doing anything. That way you have a fall back just in case.

    As stated in my previous post, not using Migration Assistant will make the transfer much more complicated and time consuming. I had to do something similar, though it has been awhile, when I went from a PowerPC Mac running OS 10.4 to a new MBP running 10.7. I had no choice since Migration Assistant would not support the transfer. These days I have been using Migration Assistant (4 times).

    I'll assume you have checked your new Mac and have all updated Apple software.

    Applications: Some applications do not work well in a drag & drop scenario because of, as you said "associated files". You could try copying the applications and test to see if they work. There are preferences (.plist) and sometimes Application Support files often in hidden (invisible) folders. Normally Migration Assistant copies all of those files for you, but a with manual copy, you would have to hunt those down to copy them yourself. For the instances where it doesn't work then you will probably have to install the apps from the original media and enter your license key.

    Music: I'll assume you are using iTunes. You may have to double click the music file on your old disk so iTunes on the new Mac can copy the music file to the new music folder, register it in the database, download cover art. Playlists I'm not sure about. This is a time consuming method to double click on every song. Again, this is something Migration Assistant would copy for you. There may be a better way, but that is ow I did it.

    Photos: You need to copy the iPhoto Library file from the Pictures folder on the old Mac to the Pictures folder on the new Mac. I would then try dragging the iPhotos app from the old mac to the Applications folder to the new Mac. Launch iPhotos on the new Mac and see if it works (keep in mind it would be an older version from Lion and there may be updates for Yosemite, though I've read of people running older iPhoto versions on Yosemite). There may also be an update for your copied iPhoto at the Mac App store. Not everbody is happy with the new Photos because it is missing some of the features of iPhoto. If you do launch Photos it will automatically import the pictures from the iPhoto Library you copied and create a new Photos Library file in the Pictures folder of the new Mac. Don't worry your old iPhoto Library file in the new Pictures folder will still exist. If you no longer want to use iPhoto and just use Photos, then you can delete iPhoto Library file from the Pictures folder to save disk space (I would recommend keeping a backup of the iPhoto Library somewhere).

    MS Office files (finally an easy one): You can just copy those to the Documents folder on the new Mac.

    Good luck! :D
     
  4. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
  5. ndfly thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Location:
    Maryland
    #5
    CoastalOR,
    Thank you again VERY MUCH". Interesting "scenario" yesterday related and one that has me definitely going to use Migration Asst.
    I left my den for a few hours - iMAC on and in backup mode. It has been acting up lately and at times it is very annoying. Well, when I returned it was off. Shut itself down/whatever. No power outages / surges.
    Tried to turn it back on to no avail. Tried several times, still no luck. Let is sit overnight and still not able this AM.
    I called a local 3rd party Mac seller/service shop near me and the tech instructed me to unplug the iMAC for at least 15 mins. longer the better to stop the "trickle" of power that continues to flow even when off (not aware of that but now seems logical). I waited an hour and BINGO it started up[. Slow as always but it did.
    His other scenarios were - if it wouldn't stat bring it in for him to check / remove HD so i can use that to xfer files. Not worth fixing. I have a BU drive using time machine but I had some issues with it recently so I was leaning to using the iMAC directly.

    I am worried that the iMAC will shut off during the Migration. What happens then?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. ndfly thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    See my posting that I probably was typing as you were posting your additional help.
    Thanks
     
  7. ndfly thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    My MB Pro is the early 2015 `13.3 version, not the new 12" that just came out. I purchased, as in the past, a refurbished model. looks as if it was never touched.
     
  8. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #8
    Congratulations on your new MBP.

    I think it would be better not to have the iMac fail during the migration. You might be able to run Migration Assistant again and it might work fine, but I have never done that.

    Another possibility would be to clone your iMac to an external HD (erase and use your old problem Time Machine back up HD or another external HD). You can use Carbon Copy Cloner (30 day trial), Super Duper (trial period) or Disk Utility (restore option) to make a clone. Once you have a good clone then connect the external HD to your MBP and use Migration Assistant.
     
  9. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #9
    @ndfly For music, just copy the whole iTunes folder (assuming all your media is in that folder) to the new Mac. Press and hold the option key and open iTunes (on the new Mac). Choose "use existing library". Navigate to the iTunes library file (.itl if I'm not mistaken) located in the iTunes folder and all your music/playlists are now available.

    That's the simplest way while keeping all data that has been accumulated.

    If the media is in a different location, same instructions apply but you need to tell iTunes where the media is located in preferences.
     

Share This Page