Travel to UK, where/how to buy o2 SIM card?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rex3, Jul 20, 2009.

1. rex3 macrumors member

Hi,

I'll be in the UK for 2 weeks, and want to take my US/ATT iphone 3g with me. I'd like to have data service, for use with maps, etc. I would like to get the o2 pay-as-you-go SIM card, favourite place, with unlimited data bolt-on, for a £10 top-up.

I see people selling these on ebay for £30 or more, plus shipping to US, which seems outrageous to me. My question is, can I just walk into an o2 store or supermarket and buy one of these sim cards, or will it be hard to find in London? Should I buy one on ebay so I have it before I leave? Will o2 sell one to me without any hassle about my (soon-to-be) jailbroken and unlocked US/ATT iphone?

I haven't traveled internationally since owning a mobile phone that works overseas, so I'm a total newb to all this.

Thanks!

2. danpass macrumors 68020

danpass

3. Que macrumors 6502

yes. go to an o2 shop. there are plenty in london.

4. allymac macrumors member

Just go into any O2 shop - there's one about every 200 yards in London. :D Should be pretty painless, they will want some details from you like name and address, that's about it - you're good to go. Can't remember what the minimum spend is for a SIM card - it's £5 for normal ones, but knowing that you'll want an iPhone one it'll probably be £100 :D <--- joke

5. mrochester macrumors 65816

AFAIK you can't buy a pay as you go Iphone sim without also purchasing an iPhone. You can walk in and buy a normal pay as you go sim, but that won't include data. iPhone pay as you go sims are sold for just a few pounds on eBay, which you'll then have to top up with £10 to get going.

6. Woomy123 macrumors regular