Travelling in the US with UK 3GS - Can I buy an AT&T sim?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jazzatola, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. Jazzatola macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I'm travelling from the UK to California shortly and want to use my iPhone while I'm over there. It'll only be for two weeks but o2's international data charges are extortionate.

    Would it be possible to pick up an AT&T sim to use while I'm there? I wont be making many calls or sending many texts but I'd like to use the data connection when I'm away from wi-fi.

    Any recommendations?

    Thanks.
     
  2. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  3. Jazzatola thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  4. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #4
    You can't use an AT&T SIM if it's locked to O2.

    Your best bet is one of the O2 data abroad bolt-ons and keeping your data usage as low as possible when away from wi-fi.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Unlock with Ultrsn0w and after that you can use on AT&T.
     
  6. Jazzatola thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  7. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    He can't if he's on 3.1.
     
  8. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    Pwnage Tool:) Unless it was on 3.1 by default...:(
     
  9. anjinha macrumors 604

    anjinha

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    What do you mean? If he's on 3.1 he upgraded the baseband so he can't unlock.
     
  10. molala macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #10
    Texts are free on O2 when you are out of the country, they come out of your text allowance (4 texts worth per SMS). It doesn't matter where you text to. And receiving text is free. So I tend to SMS rather than email or call when abroad. I'm not sure what the data roaming charge would be in the US though.
     
  11. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #11
    Data roaming costs with O2 are ridiculous. A 10MB data abroad bolt on costs £19.58 per month and 50MB costs £48.95. :eek:

    When I'm abroad I turn data roaming off and use text messages and only send emails when there's free wi-fi.
     
  12. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    [citation needed]
     
  13. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #13
    PwnageTool v. 3.1.3 from the Dev-Team allows one to upgrade to 3.1 without changing the baseband. Many of us are running 3.1 with 04.26.08 baseband, so it is not justified to assume that the OP is not. If he has a jailbroken 3GS upgraded with PwnageTool, he can still unlock using ultrasn0w.
     

Share This Page