Trump expected to order citizenship question added to the census

ericgtr12

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 19, 2015
Just wondering what we think of using an executive order to overturn a SCOTUS decision.

From MSNBC
President Donald Trump is expected to announce Thursday that he is taking executive action to add a citizenship question to the census, according to an administration official.

Trump tweeted that he will hold a press conference in the afternoon to discuss his latest efforts at including the question as part of the census.

"The White House will be hosting a very big and very important Social Media Summit today," Trump tweeted. "Would I have become President without Social Media? Yes (probably)! At its conclusion, we will all go to the beautiful Rose Garden for a News Conference on the Census and Citizenship."

blackfox

macrumors 65816
Feb 18, 2003
PDX
I'm not a lawyer, so I can't begin to wade into this. AFAIK, Census material is already being printed (as per mandated deadline), and this may be offered as a supplement. IDK...To me, it seems like a Political ploy by Trump, largely because either (a) it won't happen, or (b) it will be a supplement, but not to every census form - thereby corrupting the census data. You may like the idea of the question, but this if you're going to draw off this information for future policy, you are designing it to be flawed.

Zenithal

macrumors G3
Sep 10, 2009
Another example of abuse of power.. he doesn't care.. and the country as a whole doesn't care. They just keep letting him do whatever he wants. Disgusting!
Not correct. People did care. They sued. They won. Barr found a loophole.
[doublepost=1562863370][/doublepost]