Trying to figure out if I would regret buying an iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by salmoally, Jun 6, 2012.

1. salmoally macrumors regular

I'm just wondering if there is anyone else who went from laptop to desktop and how they found it? I've never owned a desktop and it feels like a huge disadvantage not being able to move it easily but at the same time I've always envied the price-peformance ratio.

My current laptop is almost dead and I only want to spend money on one computer a laptop or desktop.

Would love to hear any experiences/reasons of why you went iMac over a Macbook Pro.

(I know I could buy and test but I'm trying to figure out if I would be happy say 3 months down the line.)

2. forty2j macrumors 68030

forty2j

Personally I find the big desktop + the iPad to be a perfect combination.

3. salmoally thread starter macrumors regular

I've been thinking about that. I'm a textile designer and freelance illustrator and have thought about using an iPad as a portfolio and to sketch ideas to show clients.

4. 184550 Guest

When my HP laptop died in June of 2010 I was thinking the same thing.

I ultimately ended up getting an iMac and it was a great decision. I don't know about you, but with my HP laptop I had an 20 inch monitor hooked up, speakers, external hard drive and a mouse. It was never a mobile setup for me in the first place. Plus I had just finished undergrad and didn't need the portability/ mobility.

If you need a mobile device, then it's a great excuse to get an iPad. :p

----------

Exactly what I did.

5. LaWally macrumors 6502a

Not sure what your budget is, but you could buy a laptop and a TBD and get the best of both worlds ... mobility when you need it, a "desktop" when you don't.

6. forty2j macrumors 68030

forty2j

That's actually a perfect application for the iPad. It excels at the "Portfolio" aspect (and your work will look stunning on the Retina display), and there's a few painting/drawing apps that are just starting to catch on.