Trying to flash the Gigabyte GTX 750ti 4GB Card - Which EFI do I get?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Vaughn Goodsen, Feb 9, 2016.

  1. Vaughn Goodsen macrumors newbie

    Vaughn Goodsen

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #1
    So I bought a Gigabyte GTX 750ti (GV-N75TWF2OC-4GI) Amazon

    I installed the web drivers on my mac pro, installed the card, and rebooted the computer and it worked. I thought everything was fine until I tried to use boot camp. In order to switch hard drives I need access to the boot screen, so I decided to try to find an EFI for the card.

    I found a few Gigabyte GTX 750ti EFI's on this website's database, but unfortunately they are all 2GB versions. So my question is: Can I use a 2GB GTX 750ti EFI, or does the EFI have to be for the 2GB card. Will the memory auto adjust once I load the OS? Will the card even work if I flash it with an EFI made for the 2GB version?

    Here is the file I was trying to use: This or This

    But here is the full list of available EFI's: http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...model=GTX+750+Ti&interface=&memType=&memSize=
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    AFAIK, There is no Mac EFI (not UEFI) for 750Ti for self flash yet, you must send it to professional like MVC to do it for you.

    Anyway, you can select start up disk in system preferences in OSX (and within Bootcamp apps in Windows), no need the boot screen.
     
  3. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #3
    So you can take, say a normal non flashed 980ti, and it will work fine on both sides and you just use the Bootcamp startup disk selectors to go back and forth?

    No flashing really "needed"?
     
  4. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #4
    Yes, it will work fine on both sides (with the usual caveats re: Maxwell cards in OS X).
     
  5. Beagl3 macrumors newbie

    Beagl3

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    The only limitation will be the PCIe Bandwith using Bootcamp. The Mac EFI won't be able to recognize the GPU BIOS so it will trade out the lowest PCIe Bandwith (PCIe 1.1 instead of 2.0) The Nvidia Web Driver using OS X bypasses that problem in some way.
     
  6. turbineseaplane macrumors 68020

    turbineseaplane

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    #6
    Ahh - that sounds like a drawback that makes flashing worth it
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    It will work for the most part, but there is a whole list of caveats which may or may not be important to you.
     
  8. Beagl3 macrumors newbie

    Beagl3

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Maybe. A GTX 750 Ti isn't a beast of a GPU, so the limitations wont't be more than measurable. Even a GTX 980 loses just about 5% of its overall performance if it has to use PCIe 1.1. But when it comes to DirectX 12 Performance, the PCIe drawback may be noticable. Under PCIe 1.1, the score of the DirectX12 draw call benachmark provided by FutureMark is not even the half of the score it should be with PCIe 2.0. The reult of DirectX11 draw call benchmark is fine with my GTX 970.
     
  9. mohammedamr macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #9
    Hello, so you mean I can choose a startup disk from windows
    --- Post Merged, May 29, 2017 ---
    i have the same problem if i set my bootcamp as a startup disk how will i go back to mac
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Correct, that's what bootcamp apps for.
     
  11. mohammedamr macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #11
    Which app do you mean
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    The apps itself called "Bootcamp" in Windows
     
  13. mohammedamr macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #13
    i mean apps to choose a startup disk from windows so i will use mac because i dont have a booting screen
     
  14. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #14
    We know what you mean. I don't think you understand that you've been given the correct answer already:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. mohammedamr macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #15
    oh sorry this is what i want do you where can i find it on windows
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    Lower RH corner.

    Unknown.jpg
     
  17. mohammedamr macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #17
    thankyou but i didn't find it on my bootcamp
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    Did you really install Windows by bootcamp? Or install the Bootcamp driver / apps after your own Windows installation?

    That apps is from Apple, and only can be downloaded inside the MacOS Bootcamp assistant. That's a large set of files including all drivers and this apps.

    If you install Windows via Bootcamp assiatant. The installer should run automatically after Windows installation complete. However, if you install Windows by yourself, you must manually run the installer, otherwise that apps won't come out from nowhere. It's not a part of Windows, but a 3rd party apps (to MS).
     
  19. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #19
    You may be unaware that you can actually download the drivers etc from here: https://support.apple.com/kb/dl1721?locale=en_US

    It says Windows 7 and 8, but it also works on 10.
     
  20. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #20
    Oh, I think the link was gone, don't know still there. Thanks for the correction.
     
  21. mohammedamr macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #21
    yes i did i downloaded windows 8.1 by bootcamp assistant
     

Share This Page