Trying to Install 8GB ram in 2010 13' MacBook Pro and its not starting

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ssavanna, May 18, 2011.

  1. ssavanna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #1
    I just received my ram today for my 2010 13" MacBook Pro. I just tryed to install it and turn the macbook back on and it just freezes at the initial white apple screen.

    I tried removing it and re-installing it 3 times and no luck. I put the original back in and it started up, but took like 2 minutes to start and seems to be running sluggish.

    I bought the ram that was suggested to me on here. Is this not the right ram for my Macbook? I know that its DDR3 - 1333 not 1066, but I was told that it would be fine.


    This is it:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231295&nm_mc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel&cm_mmc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel-_-Content-_-text-_-

    Can someone give me some guidance.
     
  2. dagamer34 macrumors 65816

    dagamer34

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #2
    Try one stick at a time. One of them may be bad.
     
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    Like previously mentionned, try one stick at a time, one of them or both of them are probably DOA(dead on arrival) and newegg will exchange them for you for free. Also, make sure you're seating your RAM correctly and all the way in.
     
  4. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    You bought the wrong RAM. The 2010s use 1066MHz RAM. The 2011s use 1333MHz.
     
  5. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  6. keantan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    #6
    Although he bought 1333MHz RAM I've always known it to not be a problem since the RAM would just run at the lower speed (I know this is the case with PC's, but Macs?)

    As previously suggested, check RAM seating + 1 stick at a time. Could be a faulty DIMM.
     
  7. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    Doesn't matter, RAM will happily downclock itself without issue.
     
  8. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    Not necessarily. If doesn't have proper timings on the slower profile, it won't work, like it seems the case here.
     
  9. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #9
    Like the other 100 times I said this, MOST RAM DAMAGE IS CAUSED BY STATIC! If it's truly DoA, the only way to find out is to unpack grounded, take out grounded, and install grounded.

    1. Did you ground yourself?
    2. Did you unplug the battery?
    3. Are you sure the RAM is compatible? Like 100%?
    4. Can you try it on another computer to see if it's truly DoA?
     
  10. pdf899 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    shanghai, china
    #10
    :) I have the same problem with 2010 13' Macbook.
    It can't boot with DDR3 - 1333 4GB x 2.
    With DDR3 - 1067 (1GB) + DDR3 - 1333 (4GB), osx can boot. After search on google, there is an answer http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1491628

    I changed CAS of RAM, now it can boot with DDR3-1333 4GB x2 .SPDtool may not work, you can try Thriphoon Burnner.
     

Share This Page