Trying to partition my new macbook pro 15" 320 gig hard drive... Taking a long time

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bliks, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. bliks macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #1
    I am trying to partition the drive to split the drive into a 35GB portion for all my music.

    The disk utility has said modifying partition map for about 30 minutes... how long does this process usually take?
     
  2. TooSixy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  3. sehnsucht77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #3
    the machine might be going over a bad sector. the process shouldn't take that long. i partitioned a terabyte in a few minutes.
     
  4. bliks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #4
    I let it sit fror an extra 10 minutes then I had to leave for work.

    I'll try again tonight, but what am I supposed to do for the partition... Can anything be done about this... or am I just SOL on the whole matter?

    Thanks,

    Cory
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    If your drive is fragmented it takes a long time to repartition it.
     
  6. sehnsucht77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #6
    try running a disk error utility on it to identify if any bad sectors are present.
     
  7. bliks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #7
    I just bought the computer though, theres no way it should be fraggmented?


    How would I go about doing that?

    I'm a mac newb if you couldn't tell, lol. Long time windows user and new mac convert :p
     
  8. sehnsucht77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #8
    exactly. it shouldn't be a problem to partition a blank disk hence the conjecture about the bad sector.

    break out your manual and read up on the Software Restore Disk that came with your computer. the thing should have a utility in there that functions like chkdsk on steroids. load the software on bootup.

    if you've been a windows user for a long time, you should be able to load a windows boot prompt on the disk and do diagnostics that way from a bootable ISO. hope you've kept up with your DOS command skillz.....
     
  9. bliks thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #9

    All right perfect!! thnank you so much!

    Ill give it a shot when I get home.

    -Cory
     

Share This Page