Trying to run EQ Free edition on Parallels i5 4850 and no go

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Shivetya, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    I get a 2002 error from the EQ launcher telling me that my video card is not supported. I will have to assume I could run it under bootcamp but I prefer not to have to boot to 7 just to play a game. LOTRO runs fine in Parallels but apparently something in EQ2's detection code does not like it.

    Ideas? Something I can tweak on the EQ2 settings buried somewhere to bypass this check?
     
  2. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #2
    I know lotro has wine based ports made for it... maybe EQ2? I dunno... but gaming in a Virtual Machine isn't usually that great, I always go for something Wine based first, then settle for a VM if thats all that works, but since Parallels uses Wine to handle graphics, if it doesn't work in Wine, it often has problems in Parallels too.

    Looking at the AppDB in Wine it looks complicated to get it working, and many people never get it working... http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=9400

    Someone has been trying to get it running with Wineskin (http://forum.portingteam.com/viewtopic.php?f=182&t=7430&p=61394) but hasn't gotten it completely right yet.

    You might be stuck on EQ2 having to use Windows directly with a Bootcamp install.
     
  3. Shivetya thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #3
    Well thank you for your time doh123, you found out more than I did, I didn't realize the engine underneath parallels
     
  4. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    it uses code from Wine to handle graphics.. but it runs a full real OS, so its much more than just Wine.
     
  5. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    Are you talking about EQ or EQ2?

    EQMac although just a single server works (although it is a PowerPC port) and the majority of the UI performance issues are resolved with the Poweroftwo UI pack.
     
  6. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #6
    as I posted in another thread (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1110095) I was able to get a free trail of EQ1 working just fine in Wineskin...

    Basically I just made a new Wineskin 2.0 wrapper with engine WS7Wine1.3.15... used Winetricks to install IE7, and installed the free trial... it ran fine, except I have to leave it windowed or the mouse breaks.

    activating an account will not work right, so I used Windows to activate a trial account... once my account was ok, then actually playing on OSX worked fine.

    EQ2 would be fun to try too... but I probably won't try it myself anytime soon if someone else wants to.
     

Share This Page