Trying to run run 2x OS X Mavericks and one install of Win 7 on my MBP

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by Manuelrodrigues, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. Manuelrodrigues, Jan 2, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2014

    Manuelrodrigues macrumors member

    Manuelrodrigues

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #1
    Hi there,

    Trying to run 2 x OSX and 1 x win7 on my new rMBP. One for casual use, work, internet etc and one which is a clean instal of osx and almost never comes on the internet as this must be super stable because I operate visuals and lighting. Additionally I want to run one instal of win7 because some of the tools I use are only available on win xp / 7. Thought I had every thing running like a charm but after I installed OSX on the third partition, (after installing win7 and OSX each on their own partition) I got in trouble. Now when I try to boot to the win7 partition I get the message ""No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key".

    Help! I can't enter win7 anymore... How do I solve this?

    Really hope you can help!

    Cheers,

    Manuel
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    You never heard of visualizations? What is wrong on a notebook using either VMWare's Mac Fusion or Parallels. With visualizations you can run better, faster and OS X doesn't like a lot of partitions.
     
  3. Manuelrodrigues thread starter macrumors member

    Manuelrodrigues

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #3
    Id like to run win7 natively. Running it virtualised has a negative impact on (GPU) performance.
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Are you playing Games on this thing? Hard core graphics us just the bane of virtualization, on any platform.
     
  5. Manuelrodrigues thread starter macrumors member

    Manuelrodrigues

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #5
    What does "Us just the Bane" mean?

    I'm running a GPU heavy realtime 3d lighting simulation tool. Its not available for OSX.
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    So you want boot into each partition all the time? Plus each one should have a trial try it and see if it works. What is to loose?
     
  7. Manuelrodrigues thread starter macrumors member

    Manuelrodrigues

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #7
    The first option you mention costs 80 euro and the other a 100. I think its worth the research to see if I can run like I want it and for free.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    What you running up against is a limitation in the way Bootcamp works. You can only have the one OS X partition and the one Bootcamp partition. I have seen posts with users saying they got around this somehow, but I don't recall the procedure. I did find this old thread with a work around. No idea if it still works.
     
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #9
    Yeah, apple's bootloader can't handle what you are asking. You can try a custom bootloader, and I think there is still one around. Also, you can try making a bootable partition from another drive for one of the installs.

    The easiest solution is just to make a user account that is clean, and don't bother making 2 OSX partitions.
     

Share This Page