trying to use Elgato Video Capture to watch TV

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ansabakhan, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. ansabakhan macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #1
    i just bought this product ... i have a dish network receiver, and only needed my imac 27 to be used as screen... i just connect Elgato Video Capture and installed the video capture software , this softare only give u a small video to view so i am looking for some other way i can watch TV thur Elgato Video Capture basically just a bigger windows thats about it ! ..after doing some research i found out i would be able to do that with EyeTV but its not compatible with Elgato Video Capture .. can some one help

    thanks

    http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/mainmenu/products/Video-Capture/product1.en.html
     
  2. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #2
    I think you should be using an EyeTV for that. The video capture is meant to only capture the video.

    The small image is small because you are viewing 720x480 video on a 2560x1440 screen.

    You have the wrong device for your purpose, you'll need the EyeTV.

    p.s. you should just be able to plug the EyeTV into a USB port and your COAX into the other end.
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    Elgato Video Capture only offers this
    Video resolution: 640×480 (4:3) or 640×360 (16:9)
    so in essence you can't make it bigger, while capturing, maybe later in a player with full screen.

    Or you can zoom into the screen via CTRL+scrollwheel/trackpad-scroll.
     
  4. ewilson6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #4
    change screen resolution to 800 X 600...this seems to be the logical solution here.

    --Eric
     
  5. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #5
    so what i bought is wrong? if i can get the picture on the scrren why cant i just watch it some how making the screen bigger?

    it there a third part software which can do that?
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    As was said before, you bought the wrong product to do what you want.
    The application does not allow full screen or have you tried maximizing it via the green button or the bottom right corner (to manually enlarge the window)?

    The other solution was CMD+scroll (mouse or trackpad) or sell that product and get the EyeTV, or change the resolution.

    Have you taken any of these steps (except the EyeTV) that have been offered to you before, which I just regurgitated?
     
  7. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #7
    ok ill do that ! is there a basic EyeTV product which some one can recommend me? some thing which just take composite /Svideo input thats about it
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
  9. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #9
    Right, the device you have isn't really for watching TV, it will give you a preview of what you want to record since it's a recording device.

    You'll need the EyeTV, or use the stop-gap solutions everyone has given you until then.

    It would just suck really bad to turn your 27" HiDef iMac into an 800x600 SDTV set.
     
  10. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #10
    i now know i need EYETV but when i look it up there are many models other there and i am not sure which one to buy ? sorry i am really new to all this .. and trying to understand all of this as much as possible
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    I gave you link, did you check it out?
     
  12. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #12
    sorry i missed the link .. just looked at it ... thank you .. i think this should work with the DISH receiver ... do they record TV as well.. or should i keep my video capture card for that ?
     
  13. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #13

    Capture video from a set-top box or VCR
    EyeTV Hybrid can capture video from analog sources such as a set-top box, a VCR, or a camcorder. Simply connect the video source to your computer using the included video cable for composite (RCA) or S-Video; then watch and even record the picture on your computer in standard definition. In the US, EyeTV 3 software offers additional support for set top boxes.
     
  14. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #14
  15. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #15
    Yes, OWC/MacSales is a reputable source and is often spoken of when RAM or other purchases come into play.
     
  16. ansabakhan thread starter macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #16
    thank you !!!! so this is what you suggested ... there are few different models of EyeTV Hib...some says 2008 some 2009 .. but i am guessing that's just when they were manufactured ..ill go a head and order this
     

Share This Page