UC Berkeley, their education poureth over

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by tshrimp, Jun 1, 2017.

1. tshrimp macrumors 6502

tshrimp

2. jkcerda macrumors 6502

jkcerda

from link
    he/she/it (don't want to assume genders here) might need a refund.

3. daflake macrumors 6502a

It took her two years to figure it out? Yep, moving to Germany may have been the best idea I had yet. Maybe she should stick to velcro

4. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

oneMadRssn

If you're paying for grad school, you're doing it wrong.

5. VulchR macrumors 68020

VulchR

I knew somebody when I was a PhD student at Princeton that was studying how to describe with mathematics all possible knots. It sounded absurd at first, but then he told me about the applications regarding the 3-D shape of DNA. With respect to this research, I would imagine that mountain climbers, rescue workers, construction workers etc. would be very happy to understand why knots fail. You just never know what will be useful.

6. daflake macrumors 6502a

So basically you are saying that her work was derivative?

7. BoxerGT2.5 macrumors 68000

BoxerGT2.5

Double knot the ****ing things you idiot.

8. daflake macrumors 6502a

Took two years for that one to figure it out.

9. jkcerda macrumors 6502

jkcerda

and plenty of cash

10. daflake macrumors 6502a

It's a liberal campus, it should be free right? Oh wait...

11. BoxerGT2.5 macrumors 68000

BoxerGT2.5

Seriously, we need to spend money on this type of ****. Worse yet an adult, their professors, approved that?

12. daflake macrumors 6502a

It was probably the crux of her thesis that she had to defend! WTF?

13. BoxerGT2.5 macrumors 68000

BoxerGT2.5

I hope so, I wouldn't want such important research to go unchallenged. Their methods must be sound!

14. DrewDaHilp1 macrumors 6502a

DrewDaHilp1

Cue up the picture of the thinking guy saying" Don't need to know why shoelaces come untied if you wear velcros."

15. niploteksi macrumors regular