Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Manj27

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 10, 2007
London
Was reading Stephen Fry's tech coloumn in this morning's Guardian - I think he sums up the whole iphone experience very well. A well written piece.....

--------------------------------
Guardian Home Pages
iPhone lands Not sensible, but, oh, the joy of it!
Stephen Fry
692 words
10 November 2007
The Guardian
English
© Copyright 2007. The Guardian. All rights reserved.
And lo! The great day came.

I have been using an Apple iPhone now for more than four months. This is due to an unhealthy mixture of friendship with its designer, a slobbery and pathetic love of the new, the possession of an American billing address [necessary until today for the activation and use of the device] and a willingness to pay preposterous international roaming charges. It puts me in a good position however,to tell you what you're in for if you decide to own one of these honeys.

I should first get out of the way all the matters that will please those of you wrinkling your noses in a contemptuous Ian Hisloppy sort of way at the sheer hype, pretension, nonsense and hoopla attendant on what is, after all, only a phone. There is much to support your case.

Proud techie owners of rival devices can say: "What, only a 2-meg camera? What, no GPS? What, no 3G? What, no video? What, no third party applications?" What no, Sim card swapping?" A whole heap of what no-ing can be done.

Proud non-techie people can say: "I just want a phone that lets me make a call with the minimum of fuss. I don't want a 'design classic' and I certainly don't want to be locked into an 18-month data plan, whatever that might be."