unable to get wi-fi from Airport Base Station to iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by arcsbite, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. arcsbite Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #1
    after much testing I have found that my Airport Extreme Base Station is not broadcasting my wireless network to my iPhone.
    it is broadcasting it to my Mac and my Macbook Pro, but when I search for networks via my iPhone is finds nothing.

    I tested this be internet sharing, I had ethernet from my Base station to my mac pro and shared my internet from ethernet to Airport and my iPhone picked up network "Rick's Mac Pro" instantly.

    anyone know what's going on and how I can get onto my network with my iPhone?

    thanks
     
  2. Resevdog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #2
    Well...

    Clearly your iPhone hates you. jk

    I could be a number of issues, the first of which is what kind of router are you using? Is it Draft N? The iphone will not pick that up. It may be possible to set the antenna transmitter to the g band. If that's not the case, then check to see if you can pick up ANY other networks. If not, it might be a faulty wifi antenna and you should seek a replacement.
     
  3. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #3
    Did you hack the iPhone to get it running? Are you using it as on a cellular network??
     
  4. arcsbite thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #4
    thanks
    I'm using the Airport base station, it's set to N with b/g compatibility.
    there aren't any other networks in my area, will have to try it when i'm out and about.
    praying it's not a fault with the phone, no idea how i'd return it from the UK to NY
     
  5. arcsbite thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #5

    I used the anderson method to hack it, I'm not using the phone function at all (we don't have a UK unlock yet)
     
  6. arcsbite thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #6
    EDIT - I have edited my main post I have worked out that the iPhone is fine, it's my base station that is not showing the network or giving access to my iPhone...no idea how to fix it though
     
  7. Resevdog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #7
    That could be your problem. Although it has b/g compatibility, you may not be transmitting on those bands. Go into the base station settings and check that. I don't know if it gives you the option of setting the transmit standard like other routers though, but if so I believe it will have a choice to transmit in "mixed" mode or something similar...

    Also look here http://www.apple.com/support/manuals/airport/ and http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106858
     
  8. Resevdog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
  9. arcsbite thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #9
    Just posting from safari on my iPhone (!!!!!!!!!) to say how awesome you are :D
     
  10. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #10
    Glad you're enjoying it!!, I thought you might have the hack or be a roamer form the states..I'll be in Ireland in August...roaming on ATT, hoping it is still somewhat unique then. I love demoing it to interested friends.
     
  11. Resevdog macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #11
    aww, shucks...:eek:
     

Share This Page