Unfamiliar process called "Purple Box" in Activity Monitor?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by stormypenguin, May 30, 2010.

  1. stormypenguin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #1
    I have never seen this before, to my recollection. It has no CPU activity, has 10 threads, 27.05 MB Real Memory, and 972.89 MB Virtual Memory.

    What the heck is this thing?

    I appreciate your help!
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
  4. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #4
    Do you have any apps running?
    Close everything that might be running. Including turning off all widgets, then check again.
    I can tell you this, it's not a Apple process that is running. It is some third party app.
     
  5. Mike Litoris macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #5
    does it reappear after restarting your computer?
     
  6. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #6
    I will restart the computer and then take a screen shot once the computer has started up fresh and app-less. Thank you for the responses.
     
  7. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
  8. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #8
    It must have been an application or a widget, but for the life of me I don't know which. In any case, Purple Box is gone.

    But I do have another question. What is the process rsmac_3696? I included the screen shot if its necessary.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9
    rsmac_3696 is an app that is used by Akamai.

    Maybe it uses Akamai for Steam perhaps ?
     
  10. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
  11. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #12
    Ah yes, my boyfriend did install Steam on this rig at one point, though I did think I had gotten rid of it... thank you so very much for the help! Nice to know there isn't an evil purple box monster lurking in the shadows.
     
  12. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #13
  13. stormypenguin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #14
    Yes, I do use CS5. How wonderfully informed you are! My utmost gratitude to you.

    And I will make more use of the nets' search engines in the future. But to be honest, I had Dogpiled and Turbo10'ed the heck out of "Purple Box" with no luck, so I figured the enlightened ones here could help me out.
     

Share This Page