Unlocked iPhone 3gs Black Hairline Crack What To DO?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by gr81mgbgt, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. gr81mgbgt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #1
    I got a Brand New iPhone 3gs with a hairline crack By the top Power Button, It is not noticeable unless you really look for it, What should i do? I cant Take it to the apple store Right?
     
  2. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #2
    Not unless you re-lock it and have service active with AT&T. And even then you're likely to get a different iPhone 3GS, with 3.1 preloaded on it.
     
  3. gr81mgbgt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #3
    So basically Just Ignore it, its not going to hurt anything anyways? :cool:
     
  4. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    By unlocked do you mean factory unlocked, or jailbroken unlocked?

    if factory, then only way to get warranty service out of country that broken I believe is to get apple care.
     
  5. gr81mgbgt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    either restore it and get it replaced

    or

    live with it
     
  7. hotzenplotz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #7
    What others have suggested or just get a back cover from iPhone part resellers.
     
  8. gr81mgbgt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #8
    yeah but how can i get it replaced when its unlocked? And i will most likely get a new one with 3.1, then im stuck.
     
  9. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #9
    I just had to have my wife's phone replaced today due to a broken ringer/silence switch. The replacement (white iPhone 3G 16GB) had 3.01 on it out of the box.
    FWIW.
     
  10. apple3g040193 macrumors 6502

    apple3g040193

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #10
    actually i had to get mine replaced a month ago because my phone didnt support vvm for some odd reason anyway the refurb they gave me had 2.2 on it maybe i just got lucky but idk.
     
  11. gr81mgbgt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #11
    maybe a stupid question, but how am i going to take it to the apple store if i don't have AT&T?
     
  12. jaysen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    #12
    gr81,

    I'm not 100% certain but it would only make sense the Apple store would only service your phone if you had a current contract with AT&T (Sim w/Data). I've got similar cracks with my 3GS that I will be taking in tomorrow to the Apple store - I'm hoping I don't receive a 3.1 phone =/
     

Share This Page