Unlocking iPhone 4 ATT from European telcos?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thh420, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. thh420 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #1
    I have a iPhone 4, since AT&T, won't unlock it, could it be possible for a European wireless telcom to unlock it?
     
  2. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    An AT&T iPhone is locked to AT&T and no one will unlock it. Not AT&T. Not a European Carrier. No One.
     
  3. Shadowbech macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #5
    Only the carrier where it came from can unlock the phone. If they allow unlocking that is. However, it the phone is from AT&T, it is permanently locked to AT&T and they will not unlock the iphone for any circumstances.
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    Not even if you offer them your firstborn!
     
  5. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #7
    Agree not only won't they they can't! if your moving sell it and buy it in Europe!
     
  6. thh420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #8
    I'm not moving there, but I was going to sell it to my cousin who is a flight attendant. He goes overseas almost everyday, and since his 4s is on sprint the rates are murder, and he wanted to get a unlocked one. Thanks to everyone for the help. This 4.11.08 baseband crap sucks, I wish the guy I bought it from hadn't updated to 5.0.1 before he sold it to me. I hope devteam or someone can figure it out sooner or later.
     
  7. PharmDoc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #9
    If he's on Sprint, they can unlock the sim portion of the phone for international use so he can use a local sim there. He's in a better position than having AT&T who won't even consider doing something like this.
     
  8. thh420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #10
    Wait, the CDMA ones have a sim slot too? He said he called and had his unlocked by sprint, but I have no hands on with the sprint or Verizon 4s models. So he can just pop a mini simcard in, and set it to use that company's network in settings, and start talking? If so he is going to have a creepy BUENO.jpg grin and finally get me my heineken tour shirt from holland.:p
     
  9. PharmDoc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #11
    Yes sir... the 4s is universal (CDMA with GSM and CDMA is disabled in GSM provider's phones but not vice versa). You can send me a shirt too...LOL.
     
  10. thh420, Feb 19, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012

    thh420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #12
    What size you want? :) Thanks, I'm going to call him in the morn Ing and let him know, he's going to DEFINITELY going to be happy. I was going to get Att with it, but since the identy theft that happened to me a few years ago (my brother and birth dad ruined my credit), i was quoted 500 for a deposit, refundable in a year, but I don't have 500$ to drop on service, even if it is an awesome phone, which it is, I love fooling around with it and using it as a very expensive Skype phone. I haven't tried the buy a go phone sim way of using it, that AT&T shutdown, I might just eBay it. It's in perfect shape as well, and I have had it in a Magpul case since I got it, how much should I start a auction for it at?
     
  11. PharmDoc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #13
    I think Craigslist is still the best place to sell a phone. You get your cash right away and no possibility of Paypal chargebacks or scams. Just take some precautions - meet in a public place like Starbucks and maybe bring a friend as backup.
     

Share This Page