Unlocking my iPhone 4

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Komentra, Oct 12, 2012.

1. Komentra macrumors member

Hello everyone. I purchased a 32gb iPhone 4 (GSM AT&T) which was factory unlocked and when it arrived it was running iOS 5.1.1. I planned on using it on a different network and was just waiting for my sim card to arrive in the mail.

Now, i'm pretty new to this and didn't realize if I updated to the newest version of iOS that it would relock the device. Now it keeps asking for a sim to activate, I had the idea in my head Unlocked meant that I didn't need a sim card to proceed. (Obviously wrong)

I been doing a lot of reading and it seems that you can't unlock iOS 6 and you can't downgrade to 5.1.1 without SHSH Blobs (which, honestly, i have no idea what those are). I downloaded the 5.1.1 IPSW and tried various things to downgrade but nothing has helped.

Spent nearly 400 bucks when you add in the sim card I purchased and the first month of the plan and now it looks like It just a waste. Anyone have any ideas on how I can unlock it on iOS 6 or go back to iOS 5.1.1 from iOS 6 without the use of SHSH blobs or anything else that might help? I'd really appreciate it.

2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

What do you mean you purchased it factory unlocked?
    If it was really unlocked it would never lock to any carrier. No matter how many times your restore or upgrade.
    You sure you didnt use a gevey sim adapter to unlock with 5.1.1
    Something doesnt make sense here.
    Also a factory unlocked 32GB iphone doesnt go for $400, that's the price you pay under contract and its locked to AT&T.
    If you bought it full price for $749 plus tax it would have been unlocked.

3. r6girl Administrator/Editor

r6girl

Staff Member