*update w/ fix* iMac takes 3 minutes to log in after Snow Leopard update HELP please

Discussion in 'iMac' started by loneshark, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. loneshark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    florida
    #1
    so like the title says, my iMac takes 3 minutes after logging in, until it allows any inputs. she stays stuck on the desktop, none of the hot corners work, nor does the dock allow inputs for about 3 minutes.

    i checked the Console imediately after it allows me to, and theres a bunch of stuff on the IOkit that seems to be the culprit.

    I need expert advice please. thanks macrumors.

    is this a known issue ? i googled this problem but only found those pay per view sites of someone having this issue, and i searched here but couldnt find anything relevant.
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    If you create a new account, does it exhibit the same symptoms?
     
  3. loneshark thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    florida
  4. kilowattradio macrumors regular

    kilowattradio

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Try the new account and if you still have problems try running Fix permissions function in the disk utility.

    http://kb.iu.edu/data/aoxn.html
     
  5. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Yeah try make a new account and see if it still has the issue, hopefully it won't :D
     
  6. loneshark thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Location:
    florida
    #6
    PROBLEM SOLVED... it was the iPod plugged in via USB during bootup !

    if anyone is having extended boot times with their iMacs, it may be your iPod causing USB communication problems...

    I have not found a solution to this problem, only a workaround, and that is to NOT have the iPod plugged in during bootup.

    MODS please disseminate this info as I have read a few people with this issue and none had resolved their problem !

    thanks !
     

Share This Page