iPhone Updating iPhone to iOS 13 using Catalina - Issues

Discussion in 'iOS 13' started by CKohkah, Jun 4, 2019.

  1. CKohkah macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #1
    Hello all,

    Ive updated both of my macs to Catalina, no major issues so far. However, when I plug my iPhone in and find it in finder, I do the pairing it requests and it starts to get the info on my iphone but it then just goes to a blank screen.

    No buttons to Check for an update or anything.

    This is happening on both very capable macs. Has anyone experienced this?

    I’m running the 12.4 beta, but I doubt that has anything to do with it.

    I’m currently downloading the Xcode 11 beta Incase I can’t directly update using the iOS13 ipsw on Catalina but still, anyone have a work around?
     
  2. adrianlondon macrumors 6502a

    adrianlondon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    Connect phone to laptop with a USB cable, open the phone in Finder and "check for updates" should appear. You need to alt-click it. I didn't have to do any pairing, but that could be because it was already "paired" with iTunes before I upgraded.

    I was also running the 12.4 beta, and I don't have any xcode installed on my Mac.
     
  3. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    I tried to have a mod stickie my thread but it didnt happen. You DONT need to update MacOS to install iOS 13. Just Xcode 11 Beta and the iOS 13 IPSW file.
     
  4. CKohkah thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #4
    Fairly easy after that?
     
  5. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    In Xcode you go through the steps of creating a new project just to see if your iPhone shows up at the top of the Xcode menu. If it does that's your go ahead to go to iTunes hold down option and click on "update". browse to the IPSW file and you're done. There are multiple threads on reddit/r/iOS on this subject.
     
  6. adrianlondon macrumors 6502a

    adrianlondon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #6
    You posted to say you've already upgraded to 10.15 so xcode isn't needed. However, it is needed if you have a Mac that's not upgraded.
     
  7. TheSkywalker77 macrumors 6502a

    TheSkywalker77

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Nothing happened when I alt-clicked check for updates. The button highlighted and nothing happened after that. Should I try restarting my phone and computer?

    Also backups don't appear to work either.
     
  8. adrianlondon macrumors 6502a

    adrianlondon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #8
    Wait, you haven't tried the reboot "turn it off and on again" trick? Yeah, do that first! Best of luck, as it just worked for me so I've no idea how to get it working if it isn't at the moment.
     
  9. TheSkywalker77 macrumors 6502a

    TheSkywalker77

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Hah no, I didn't think to do that. :p

    Thanks though.
     
  10. MeasterHD, Jun 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2019

    MeasterHD macrumors member

    MeasterHD

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Location:
    Miami
    #10
    I'm just curious how to restore backups without iTunes. Installation of iOS13 probably failed and stuck. So now I have classic recovery mode but what to do now .. :confused:o_O

    EDIT: Finder can't locate my iPhone XS MAx
    EDIT2: Sorted it. I'm IDIOT.
     

Share This Page

9 June 4, 2019