Upgrade from Sierra to High Sierra Apple software RAID 0

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by spunrubbermat, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. spunrubbermat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Az
    #1
    I was able to upgrade my Apple RAID 0 set (SSD) in my 2011 iMac from OS X Sierra to OS X High Sierra by the following:

    I downloaded (didn’t install) OS X High Sierra. High Sierra won’t directly upgrade an Apple RAID 0 volume.

    Cloned (Carbon Copy Cloner) my OS X Sierra RAID 0 set to an external (thunderbolt single drive).

    Opened and started High Sierra installer and upgraded the external (cloned) drive to High Sierra.

    Reboot into the High Sierra external drive.

    Erased RAID 0 set using disk utility (High Sierra).

    Cloned the external drive (High Sierra) onto my internal Apple RAID 0 set.

    Disconnected external drive and rebooted my iMac into High Sierra system.

    Success (so far). All programs and files are functional so far.

    File system isn't changed to APFS

    Note: I have redundant backups and clones just in case this didn’t work!
    So far, success.
     
  2. Fredd057 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    #2
    Hi !

    I hope this works ...

    Do u use CCC for "Cloned the external drive (High Sierra) onto my internal Apple RAID 0 set." ?

    Thanks !
     
  3. spunrubbermat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Az
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Sep 27, 2017 ---
    Yes, carbon copy cloner previously installed (latest version) on the external drive.
     
  4. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #4
    sounds like a lot of hassle. hopefully they implement RAID for APFS soon
     
  5. spunrubbermat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Az
    #5
    Installed on external and RAID 0 drive
     
  6. spacedesign911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #6
    Hi Spunrubbermat, May I ask you have you been able to upgrade High Sierra since you managed to install it on your SSD Raid 0

    I am in the same situation with 2 SSD in Raid ) in my Mac Pro and can't install High Sierra, but am considering your solution.
     
  7. vince22 macrumors regular

    vince22

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #7
    my old 2010 Mid MacBook Pro MacOS Sierra 10.12.6 Raid-0 setup updated to (not clean install) MacOS High Sierra 10.13.4 HFS+ Raid-0,trim enabled, very zippy indeed, boot times from power button to desktop took 33.5 secs. i've used SuperDuper to cloned Sierra 10.12.6 raid-0 setup to external single drive updated thru App store to 10.13.4 and cloned back to ssd raid-0 HFS+ format. good luck.
     
  8. spacedesign911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    Thanks I’m prepping everything now for the move!
     

Share This Page

7 September 26, 2017