upgraded from jb'd 1.1.2 to 1.1.4 cant use ping cmd via VT100

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jczaja, May 11, 2008.

  1. jczaja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #1
    I just upgraded my jailbroken 1.1.2 iphone to 1.1.4 and used ziphone to jailbreak it again.. Got everything more or less working now. However, I was testing out the VT100 (svn278) app and i can't seem to use the ping command.

    I get "ping: socket: Operation not permitted"

    Any idea how to fix this? Other than that, everything seems to be working fine so far.. Thanks!

    -J
     
  2. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
  3. jczaja thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #3
    Thanks.. I tried "su root ping 192.xx.xx.xx" and it asked for a password, which i put 'alpine'. It spit back that it was incorrect! However, i was able to SSH into my phone using root/alpine without any problems whatsoever and no problems with ping either.. Any idea what the problem with Terminal.app could be?

    Thanks!

    -J
     
  4. jczaja thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #4
    Still having the same problem.. I did try the suggestion in the following post via SSH

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=4860659&postcount=12

    on the second part of the fix i changed everything that referenced 'Term-vt100.app' to 'Terminal.app'

    Still no dice, any other suggestions? Definitely seems to be some sort of permissions issue going on. Thanks!

    -J
     
  5. jczaja thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #5
    Still trying everything under the sun.. Even restored my iphone to 1.1.4 via itunes.. Still the same problem with VT100 terminal.. However, i tried to start the terminal.app from an SSH session and this is what i got:

    # chmod +s /Applications/Terminal.app/Terminal
    # /Applications/Terminal.app/Terminal
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.659 Terminal[80:d03] -[MobileTerminal applicationDidFinishLaunching:]: applicationDidFinishLaunching
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.786 Terminal[80:d03] -[VT100Terminal init]: terminal initialized <VT100Terminal: 0x13d350>
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.798 Terminal[80:d03] -[SubProcess initWithDelegate:identifier:]: Child process id: 81
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.837 Terminal[80:d03] -[VT100Terminal setTermType:]: Terminal type vt100 is not defined (0)
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.840 Terminal[80:d03] -[VT100Terminal init]: terminal initialized <VT100Terminal: 0x142650>
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.847 Terminal[80:d03] -[SubProcess initWithDelegate:identifier:]: Child process id: 82
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.863 Terminal[80:d03] -[VT100Terminal setTermType:]: Terminal type vt100 is not defined (0)
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.866 Terminal[80:d03] -[VT100Terminal init]: terminal initialized <VT100Terminal: 0x143d30>
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.873 Terminal[80:d03] -[SubProcess initWithDelegate:identifier:]: Child process id: 83
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.894 Terminal[80:d03] -[VT100Terminal setTermType:]: Terminal type vt100 is not defined (0)
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.897 Terminal[80:d03] -[VT100Terminal init]: terminal initialized <VT100Terminal: 0x144c90>
    2008-05-12 15:42:33.905 Terminal[80:d03] -[SubProcess initWithDelegate:identifier:]: Child process id: 84
    2008-05-12 15:42:35.076 Terminal[80:d03] -[MobileTerminal applicationDidFinishLaunching:]: application initialized
    error compiling query "SELECT value FROM _SqliteDatabaseProperties WHERE key = ?;": no such table: _SqliteDatabaseProperties
    zsh: bus error /Applications/Terminal.app/Terminal

    The last line is obviously what worries me.. Would this help figure out what the problem is? Once i get this app running I'll be happy.. Thanks!

    -J
     
  6. jczaja thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #6
    Another update.. My issue is resolved! :) In case anyone else is having the same problem the fix is to simply downgrade to VT100 (svn 198). After i installed the older version I did the following via SSH

    chmod +s /Applications/Term-vt100.app/Term-vt100

    Now everything works fine..

    -J
     

Share This Page