Upgraded macpro1,1 from HD 2600 to 8800 GT now screens dont come on

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by funkytwig, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. funkytwig macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I just upgraded my ATI Radion HD 2600 to a Nvida GeForce 8800 GT and when I powered up I get the normal sounds and here the HD working but the screens are blank. They never come off standby.

    I earthed myself, connected the power cord and screwed on the plate.

    I am using Snow Leaperd (latest version I am fairly sure).

    Any ideas?

    Ben
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    You probably either have an efi64 version or a pc version.

    Did you connect the power cable?

    If you install Netkas' "aty_init" you will be able to use card, just not for boot screens.

    If that works and card has 128k chip, you can flash it with correct rom
     
  3. funkytwig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #3
    Have found aty_init but not sure what to do with it.

    So can I use my HD 2600 for my screens and get Resolve/FCPx to use the GPU power of the 8800 GT?

    Ben
     
  4. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #4
    You have to have bought an 8800 GT specifically for the Mac Pro 1,1. The Mac Pro 1,1 does not work with all graphics cards.
     
  5. funkytwig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #5
    OK, so there are two different flavours of 8800 GT. How do I tell whitch flavour the card is. would it be better to get a 5770 or another card instead.

    Also are you saying the kernel hack or whatever it is won't work?

    To make things more complex I was thinking of going to Lion.

    Ben

    PS I have upgraded the CPU to 3Ghz Xeons.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    I'm not sure there is a way to distinguish the Mac 8800GT from the other versions. If you're buying Mac cards, usually the Radeon 5770 is the best bet for a card that's compatible with a Mac Pro 1,1.

    As MacVidCards is suggesting though, it might be possible to hack the card to turn it into the right version.
     
  7. Mac_Max macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #7
    You need to install aty_init to System/Library/Extensions. Dragging it into the folder should suffice. A utility called KextHelper can also do it for you.
     
  8. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Post a picture of the card please, I'll tell you if it's flashable. If so - it's pretty easy.
     
  9. funkytwig, Jan 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012

    funkytwig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #9
    There is a picture of the card at http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/290658681825.

    This is the one I got.

    Where do I get aty_init, there seem to be lots of different versions.

    Will the 5770 work with old Mac Pro or are there any others that I should look at. I want something tht is dual head.

    Ben

    Ben
     
  10. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #10
    there are two 8800GT for Mac

    One released for 2008 Mac Pro and newer

    One released for 2006-2007 Mac Pro


    They look identical, like the one in your link. But the one you linked to clearly states it is from a 2008 Mac Pro.
     
  11. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #11
    Yep that is it as Cindori points out. The ad says for a 2008 Mac Pro so it is a dual channel card that will not work in a 1.1. Ask the vendor if they can exchange it for the third card on the link and it states it is for a 1sy Generation mac Pro. That's us!
     
  12. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #12
    or just flash it with the EFI32 ROM and save yourself a lot of bother

    Cindori's Zeus should do it, I'm sure he fixed the subsystem id/vendor id bug by now.

    If not, you can just command line the nvflash utility and use "-9" switch to erase ROM first, then flash with the EFI32 ROM.

    This very forum had the best threads on flashing 8800GT a couple years back, use "search"

    As it is a Mac card, it for sure has the 128K chip.

    Will take about 1 minute to flash once you get ATY_Init in there. You can do it in Lion by default. In 10.6.8 you will need to use the QUadro 4000 drivers to enable card first.
     
  13. 5thwall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    #13
    Hi all,

    I'm having a similar situation in that I have an 8800GT that I pulled from a 2008 Mac Pro and need to put it in a 2007 Mac Pro 1,1.

    The fan is going full blast and nothing shows up on the monitor. The computer does boot as I tested it through Remote Desktop.

    I've been doing a ton of research today trying to figure out if and how I could re-flash the card to get it to work. Just having a hard time finding a good instruction guide.

    Is there anyone here who might be able to provide me with some instructions and links to all the files I need to download to get it to work?

    Thanks!
     
  14. funkytwig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #14
    I put Loon on my Mac Pro 2008 and it boots with a PC 5770, although you don't get the boot screen.

    The fan is a bit noisy but there may be some 5770 cards that have quiet fans.

    Ben
     
  15. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #15

    Asked and answered.

    Use ATY_INit and it will start working once computer reaches desktop.

    Read my previous answer for rest.
     
  16. 5thwall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    #16
    Hey MacVidCards,

    Thanks for the reply. I tried that and it didn't work. Should have mentioned that in my post. I think it has to do with the firmware on the card. As soon as I turn on the computer, the fan on the card runs at full blast. It boots ok, but I can't see anything through the monitor. This was confirmed by logging into the system via remote desktop.

    The card runs fine in my 2008. But as I mentioned, I read that those cards were flashed with a 64bit EFI.
     
  17. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #17
    Did you use the Quadro drivers for 10.6.8?

    This very forum is where I first looked for info on flashing 8800GT.

    It's all here, you just have to look.
     

Share This Page