Upgraded MBA 2010 to Lion and it went (a little) crazy

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Ztormie, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. Ztormie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #1
    Earlier today i purchased Lion and did a clean install on my iMac. No problems whatsoever, worked perfectly and I love it.

    Decided I wouldn't go through the hassle of makin a fresh install on the Air (1.86, 4 Gb RAM) and instead made the upgrade.

    Now, the fans seems to go crazy at random even though I have only Safari with one tab open, or even if I'm running nothing at all.
    Also, there is some hickup with the wallpaper. I changed the wallpaper to one of the included lion ones, but that only worked for one of the mission control "desktops". The others have the old wallpaper, and when I go to one of them and right click to change it, it just takes me to the window with the lion wallpaper.

    Has anyone else experienced this? Seriously thinking of reinstalling Snow Leopard on my laptop :(
     
  2. 2IS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #2
    My fans turn on a little more often but that's only becuase coolbook which I had on SL does not work on Lion yet.
     
  3. Ztormie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #3
    I have never used Coolbook, but I was happy with how the fans behaved under SL, never seem to go on unless I had a lot of apps or tabs in chrome/safari open :/
     
  4. 2IS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #4
    My fans don't go on any more often than they did under SL without coolbook, something is going on with your install.
     
  5. Oppressed macrumors 65816

    Oppressed

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #5
    Delete the extra desktop by going into mission control and press the x in the corner. New desktops after this point should be fine. Also continue using the book and see if the fans are still going crazy. Mine were at first but they calmed down.
     
  6. Ztormie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #6
    I restarted it a couple times and now the fans seem to have calmed down. Seems like it was just blowin of a bit o' steam to celebrate the new OS :cool:

    The wallpaper thing still bugs me though. I tried your tip and it seems to be working. However, when I change the wallpaper on one of the desktops I want it to change on all of them, not have one for each or being forced to change them all, one at a time. Is there an option for this I haven't noticed somewhere?
     

Share This Page