Upgraded to 320gig 7200rpm-Lesser Battery Life?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by donster28, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. donster28 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Great White North
    #1
    My new MBP 13" is getting lesser battery life since I upgraded my HD to a Seagate Momentus 320gig 7200rpm drive.

    Is this supposed to happen?

    Thanks.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Yes, but not by much. Maybe ten to twenty minutes less.

    Have you looked at Activity Monitor which process might tax the CPU. and therefore need more power, therefore have less time left? Don't forget to Show All Processes.
    [​IMG]

    If it's the "mds" process, than it's Spotlight indexing, but that shouldn't take that long.
     
  3. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    #3
    I just installed this today. I don't think things will be drastically different.
     
  4. donster28 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Great White North
    #4
    Thanks guys. I'll look that up. I always thought it won't affect my battery life that much...just wanted to confirm with experts like you ;).

    Anyway, I only calibrated my battery once and my meter is still fluctuating a bit so I will give it time to settle.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. donster28 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Great White North
    #5
    Opened Activity Monitor and I found that these two are taxing my CPU right now:

    Spindump - 10.7
    Windowserver - 8.0
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    10.7% and 8.0% is not really taxing. From 50% onwards with no good reason, that is taxing. My Finder sometimes uses 160% just for whatever.

    Spindump is the process that dumps a not responsive application.
    And Windowserver is necessary, as it is the process that draws all the nice GUI over the UNIX code, so we can navigate the computer.
     
  7. TXBDan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Firefox is taking over a gig of memory? thats a shitton, what version and what do you have going on?

    Mine uses around 250-350mb running 3.5b99 and i normally have one window with 7-11 tabs going.
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    It's the Virtual Memory.

    For example, Activity Monitor takes 9.22MB real memory, but 971.35MB of virtual memory.
     
  9. TXBDan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    ohh righto. i was figuring it based on his obscured pic and didn't think about that.
     
  10. LycanNyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Firefox is always using a lot of ram and cpu =\
    Safari4 uses a bit of more ram but less cpu

    How do you calibrate your battery?
     

Share This Page