Upgraded to a SSD on my Mac Mini mid 2010, but SATA 1 speed only...

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by efegue, Feb 18, 2012.

  1. efegue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    I've upgraded my mini to a SSD Disk today but it's only working in SATA 1, it doesn't work in SATA 2, 3Gbit.
    I've already tried SMC / NVRAM reset and didn't have any luck.

    The SSD is a Mushkin Chronos 180GB SATA 3 (MKNSSDCR180GB).

    Does anyone know how to make it working in SATA 2 mode?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Thanks!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Is the SSD's firmware up to date?
    Have you checked the manufacturer's support section/forum for help/advise?

    I got a Vertex 3 for my 2009 MBP with S-ATA 3.0 Gbps (S-ATA II) interface and the negotiated link speed was S-ATA 1.5 Gbps (S-ATA I).
    After a bit of searching, I found that I needed a firmware update, which helped.
     
  3. efegue thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #3
    Yes, I have the most up to date firmware (3.3.2). I've made a topic on the Mushkin forums anyway.

    I'm disappointed, because I was looking forward to a great update, and now I'm about to sell the mac mini, because the drive works fine in a windows machine.
     
  4. philipma1957, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    samsung series 470/830 works at full speed. can you humor me just a bit and run an xbench test.


    http://xbench.com/ go to the upper right and click on the down load.

    I just ran 2 xbench tests on my 2.4 mini from 2010. one was using the samsung in snow leopard the other was using the samsung in lion.

    i would be interested to see your scores. if you use the machine for anything except long copies you will not suffer that much. I would like to see if your xbench scores are close to mine.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. efegue thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #5
    It's not about suffering or something like that. You can get mechanical HDD's to saturate a SATA 1 channel and they are much more cheaper.

    Right now, my SSD looks like a good 7200RPM drive. The difference is that it cost much more!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. philipma1957, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    your key numbers are still unaffected, unless you are cloning this drive.


    your key numbers are


    random


    uncached write 86.16 mb/sec 4k blocks

    and


    uncached read 10.82 4k blocks


    compare them to my numbers on a 3 gb connection


    my numbers are 76 mb on a 4k random write and 8.5 mb on a random 4k read.


    these random write /read speeds are what makes you machine quick.


    think of a small light duty motorcycle in heavy city traffic it moves in and out quickly . these random w/r are all your key files for programs. no 7200 rpm drive is close to you 4k numbers your ssd is 10x to 20x faster then any 7200rpm drive in the 4k random read write numbers.


    now if you clone the whole drive and it has 100gb info on it with a few larger files( 4mb photos a movie a song)

    then the speed loss will be detected. I have a good ssd with a 3gb connection and I would only be faster on a long clone. your drive would win in most real world tests.


    BTW THANK YOU for testing the gear like I asked.

    look at this 7200 rpm test for the 4k read write. 1.53 and .69 you are 86 and 10.8 that is very fast no 7200 or even 10000 hdd will get your speeds.


    I would still be annoyed that the firmware does not match up. I am only trying to explain that you are not losing that much speed in most cases.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #7
    It's clear by the System Information screenshot the drive's negotiated at SATA I speed Sure the SMC/NVRAM reset was done correctly the install?? Stranger things have happened.
     
  8. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #8
    Hi,
    here is my SSD in Mini:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. efegue, Feb 19, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012

    efegue thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #9
    Thank you for your explanation. Yup, I'm aware that it's still faster, even if doesn't match up the speeds of the SATA 2 channel. SSD's have faster access time and are brutally faster in small reads/writes as we can see.

    Anyway like you said, I'm still annoyed it doesn't work in SATA 2. I'll try to do the SMC reset again. When we do the SMC reset something happens like when the PRAM reset does a second "mac opening sound". I want to be sure I've done it correctly.

    Thanks everyone!

    EDIT: Tried to reset SMC 2 times already, no luck, still SATA 1.
    I even tried booting only with the SSD and the SSD on the SATA channel of the SuperDrive, no luck too.
     
  10. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #10
    With older Mac models that don't have SATA III but have SATA II it can be best to use SATA II SSDs as on some of these models SATA III SSDs run at SATA I speeds. If I upgrade my 09 Minis, I'm going to get SATA II SSDs for them.
     
  11. Acorn, Feb 19, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2012

    Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #11
    does anyone know if an crucial m4 SATA 3 will run at SATA 1 or SATA 2 speeds on a SATA 2 connection. Will it do the same and run at SATA 1.
     
  12. striatedglutes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    Just finished installing mine and cloning over my old 10.7.3 install. It's running at SATA 2 (3.0gbps) as expected. Attached my xbench.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. alleggerita macrumors 6502

    alleggerita

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    Just a quick question here, you guys know about the OCZ's bootable tools that can help to lock the SATA III SSDs to SATA II speeds so that your negotiated link speed rises to 3.0Gbps? I was wondering if my SSD that ain't from OCZ (but still using the same SandForce SF2281 controller) can actually use that bootable tool to solve this problem for my other-branded SSD using the same SF2281? Anybody tried? :X
     
  14. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #14
    I know that the ocz tools are hit or miss in keeping the ocz ssd's at sata II. So the best I can tell you is maybe with a non ocz since they are already a maybe with a ocz ssd.
     
  15. gvmelbrty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #15
    I'm worried about encountering this same SATA I link speed when I get an SSD. ... I've got the same mid-2010 mac mini as the OP and was thinking about installing a Samsung 830, which is SATA III. If that's going to be an issue, can someone recommend a good 128gb SATA II SSD (and where to get it)?

    Thxs, tom
     
  16. surroundfan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #17
    The Samsung 830 should operate at 3gbps (at least it did happily on my folks' MBP and numerous other MacBooks with the Nvidia chipset)...
     
  17. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #18
    The problem with SATA 3 SSDs running at SATA 1 speeds on SATA 2 connectors only occurs with SandForce-based SSDs in conjunction with the NVidia SATA 2 chipset used in some Macs (see screenshot in first post).

    Thus, if your Mac has the NVidia chipset, get an SSD that doesn't have a SandForce controller, e.g. a Samsung 830.
     
  18. gvmelbrty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    #19
    Thanks for this info. I'll pickup a 128gb 830.

    Thanks everyone for your input.
     
  19. Stellbouz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    #20
    Hello! I have the same problem with user efegue
    But when I reset the SMC and Mac mini opens founds sata 2 and if I shut it down and open it again founds sata 1
    I am reseting again SMC and the system finds again sata 2, I restarted again finds sata 2 I shut it down and open finds sata 1...
    Can anyone help me???
    Thank you!
     
  20. mpantone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #21
    Update the firmware or get a different drive.

    I have an OCZ Vertex3 that negotiates at the 3.0Gbps SATA-II speed. Oh, and don't buy an OCZ. The company filed for bankruptcy (liquidation, not reorganization) a couple of days ago.

    You can probably get some good SSD suggestions at AnandTech. They are pretty thorough in their product reviews.
     
  21. Stellbouz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    #22
    I have the corsair force gs 128gb sata3 and has the latest version of firmware, you think that I must get an ssd with sata2?
     
  22. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #23
    indeed on the anand's recommendations. here is a link:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/7545/best-ssds-holiday-2013

    :D
     

Share This Page