Upgrading from Sierra: installer just reboots back into Sierra!

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Icaras, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #1
    Trying to install the new PB2 (coming from Sierra), but the PB access utility app just reboots my iMac like a standard normal reboot and does not go into the actual installer. Tried a dozen times already, same result.

    Any advice on this?
     
  2. v1597psh macrumors regular

    v1597psh

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I suggest you don't. It's very buggy. Or at least install it on a secondary partition. Have you even downloaded the installer from Mac AppStore?
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    The public beta 2 runs fine on my external (platter-based!) firewire hard drive.
    Of course, I -DID NOT- attempt to fool with APFS at this time...
     
  4. Icaras thread starter macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #4
    I did download directly from the Mac App Store, yes.

    But you're in most likelihood correct and this is probably a blessing in disguise. The first PB1 already ended in disaster where I had to restore from Time Machine, so I'll just wait for the next beta.
     
  5. Icaras thread starter macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #5
    Bump.

    This is still in an ongoing issue for me, even after PB5. Anyone getting the same issue as well?
     
  6. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #6
    I had this issue in an earlier beta. It wasn't until I disconnected my USB hub that it installed.
     
  7. Icaras thread starter macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #7
    I don't get it though. I've disconnected every single device. Still getting the same issue. If it means anything, I'm running a fusion drive, and the first PB failed to install so I had to restore to Sierra. Ever since, the installer won't work for every new beta.
     
  8. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #8
    So something is goofed on your machine. Did you try the NVRAM and SMC resets? Also boot to the recovery partition and do a first aid on the drive and each partition.
     
  9. Icaras thread starter macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #9
    I have done the NVRAM and SMC resets, but I'll do them again. I've also done first aid, but not under the recovery partition. I'll do that now too...
     
  10. Icaras, Aug 12, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017

    Icaras thread starter macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #10
    Wow. So I went into the recovery partition and the High Sierra installer is actually just right there next to “Reinstall macOS”! I never thought of going here and checking, and so now I’m going through the install process as we speak! Thank you!!!

    Hopefully it installs without errors though. I’m not out of the woods yet lol.

    Edit: And indeed I spoke too soon. Got an error after the progress bar was finished. Sigh.
     
  11. oatman13, Aug 15, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2017

    oatman13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    #11
    Can you attach a copy of your install.log? Located in: /var/log/install.log
    Also can you open terminal and run: diskutil list > diskutil.txt
    Upload the diskutil.txt as well.

    If you don't want to post these publicly, feel free to PM me.
     
  12. Icaras thread starter macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #12
    Hi I PMed you.
     

Share This Page