Upgrading to 2.2 destroys your chances of ever unlocking the 3G... yeah right...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TheSpaz, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #1
    What happens when brand new iPhone 3G's come with 2.2 and the latest baseband? Then what? All of these people are going to be out of luck too? To say that 2.1 is your only chance to ever guarantee an unlock is kind of misleading. Is the Dev-Team going to give up after the majority of iPhones are running 2.2 and say "Well, you shouldn't have upgraded... too bad."?
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    No they are not giving up. All they have to do is find a hole in the baseband and then execute their code, it is just a matter of when they find a hole/exploit. The people who buy 2.2 phones will just have to wait it out until a hole is discovered by the dev team.
     
  3. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #3
    they said that if you plan on unlocking anytime in the NEAR FUTURE not to uprgade
    it took them a long time to crack the old baseband
    they are expecting it to take a long time to crack the new baseband

    so if you want the unlock right when it comes out, dont upgrade
    they never said that 2.2s baseband will never be unlocked
     
  4. ceehjayem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #4
    So just to confirm, I was planning on purchasing an iPhone for a relative that needs it unlocked. If I purchase one now, it will come with the new 2.2 baseband, correct?
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Yes, it should. And that means that, as far as they have released to date, the working unlock solution they supposedly have and will release at the end of the month will not work on that iPhone.

    They'll probably come up with something new. And all they said, as others said above, is that they don't know how to unlock the new baseband right now. If you can wait an arbitrary amount of time, then why not get the latest firmware? 2.2 is great. But if you need an unlock now, then you can't do it.

    But they have been trying, and look how long it's taken them to get the 3G iPhone unlocked. It's not as easy as it was once upon a time. And they do it for free... so I think it's worth being appreciative of their effort.
     
  6. Trebuin macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #6
    I bought my iPhone the day the software unlock for the 3g was announced from Softbank (Japan). I asked them not to do any updates and they were happy to oblige and it turned out to have some really old firmware. So basically, check to make sure you have an iPhone with older firmware.

    As far as a few softbank iphone questions:
    1) Did a regular update to 2.1 so I have the newest of the unlockable baseband versions.
    2) Used Pwnage on 2.2 to remove the new baseband and jailbroke my iphone just fine.

    3) For people bringing iphones to softbank, you'll have to probably buy a softbank sim card to use your phone on their networks. It's a different card from their other phones. My documentation says a replacement runs around 2000 yen ($23).
    4) Phone was set up mostly in english and I was able to change the rest of the stuff to english.

    I love this phone.
     
  7. likegadgets macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #7
    Can you update just the baseband?

    I had a 3G on 2.0 and baseband 1.45 that I upgraded to 2.2 with pwnage (kept baseband at 1.45.

    I want to upgrade the baseband before unlocking - can this be done?
     
  8. Compile 'em all macrumors 601

    Compile 'em all

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #8
    If the baseband is upgraded to the 2.2 baseband you won't be able to unlock it. yellowsnow makes use of an exploit found in 2.1 baseband and there are currently no way to downgrade the baseband.
     
  9. likegadgets macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #9
    I have a 3G that is on 2.2 OS software that was pawned and kept the baseband at 1.45. The baseband WAS NOT upgraded to 2.2.

    I want to upgrade the baseband to 2.1 - that is what I was asking. Surely not to 2.1

    Thanks anyway
     
  10. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #10
    I just got a new iPhone and yup it came with 2.2 stock so im SOL for now.
     

Share This Page